Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2011, 04:50 PM
dstryrwiz dstryrwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 166
Default Digital Monitoring

For those of you that normally work with digital monitoring, or know about it, I need a little advice and help. I have a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 and I'll be connecting it to a pair of M-Audio Studiophile DSM3s and I wanted to know if there was an advantage to digital monitoring as the DSM3s support digital monitoring up to 192kHz sample rates and I'll be recording in a 96kHz sample rate, or if I should just run analog outs to it. Also I wished to know even exactly how to set up digital monitoring, from exactly which cables to use (as I know they're RCA connectors, but beyond that I don't know the cables, although I thought they would be AES/EBU cables, but is there a difference between those and S/PDIF), to how to set up my monitoring outputs to be sent through my S/PDIF out for main monitoring. Thank you to anyone who can be of help, and I really appreciate it in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,705
Default Re: Digital Monitoring

Kind of hard to say at the quality level we are talking about. I could see an improvement by going thru some "first class" converters, but I doubt that's what we have in your M-Audio's, my 003 or the Saffire. It simply moves the conversion process from one box(your interface) to another box(the speakers). As for cables, you can buy quality SPDIF digital cables with RCA plugs(and you should if you decide to go that route). As nice as those speakers may be, I doubt the converters are any better than your(or my) interface(just an opinion BTW).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:34 PM
dstryrwiz dstryrwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 166
Default Re: Digital Monitoring

Off topic, but I just noticed your rig and I wondered if you ever tried running up to 16 inputs at once with up to 32 outputs, or if you haven't if you think your computer would be able to support that. I know someone whose been throwing around the idea of getting an iMac with similar specs and he asked me if Pro Tools 9 on the iMac would be able to support that as he likes doing his mixing on an external console, so he needs the 32 outputs. If you know if that would work, let me know. As for with the cables, I was looking at getting Mogami W3080 cables with Neutrik NF2C-B/2 ProFi connectors and I wasn't sure if that's the right setup for that, as I know the S/PDIF cable is supposed to transmit a stereo signal, and I wasn't sure if that cable would be able to do that, or if it would only transmit in mono, so if you can let me know, that would be great. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 lightpipe optical out set-up, digital monitoring grendizer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-07-2010 08:44 PM
192 lightpipe optical out set-up, digital monitoring grendizer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-07-2010 05:40 PM
digital out for monitoring whistledixie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-10-2007 09:31 AM
Digital Monitoring with 002: not possible??? OpusFluke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-04-2003 12:15 AM
Digital Performer Monitoring Issue sfumato 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-09-2002 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com