Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2009, 10:02 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 520
Default Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Hi

I am going to buy the Waves Vocal Rider, but not sure if it will be worth the investment to get the TDM version - and suggestions. I have lots of CPU power, so RTAS will be no problem.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:06 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
Hi

I am going to buy the Waves Vocal Rider, but not sure if it will be worth the investment to get the TDM version - and suggestions. I have lots of CPU power, so RTAS will be no problem.

Thanks for your help!
they are both quite efficient and very low delay, so Native should suite 99% of users. unless you intend to use many of them! then TDM might be better.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:57 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

The TDm version is significantly less delay. I use almost all rtas these days (new Mac Pro here), but I only use this plugin as rtas.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:58 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dann View Post
The TDm version is significantly less delay. I use almost all rtas these days (new Mac Pro here), but I only use this plugin as rtas.
Oops, I meant to say that I only use it as tdm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:04 AM
stoox stoox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 157
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

I was working on a session with about 56 or so tracks with a eq and a compressor on most of them and a vocal rider on all of the vocal tracks(Which were about 4 and about 9 with some different harmonies)

It was a really queen influenced rock track and the band had each member doing something vocally. They traded off on leads a lot and they all harmonized when they were not on the lead.

and the drummer even did a harmony on a part. Amazing band.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2009, 08:46 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
Hi

I am going to buy the Waves Vocal Rider, but not sure if it will be worth the investment to get the TDM version - and suggestions. I have lots of CPU power, so RTAS will be no problem.

Thanks for your help!
You will want to to print down your automation from Vocal Rider (very fast and easy to do) to you main track automation. As Vocal rider does save time but you still need to tweak the automation it records because I would not call VR 100% accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2009, 09:39 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

I wonder if it would be possible to copy VR fader automation and paste it to volume automation.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2009, 04:52 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Yes you can.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2009, 02:08 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surrey
Posts: 651
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Did anyone get VR to work on Tiger? This is the first thing I have found that might make me upgrade from my stable 7.3.1 system.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad-Core Intel Xeon
6 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
HD3 Accel PT 9.0.6, OS 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2009, 06:40 AM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 654
Default Re: Waves Vocal Rider - TDM or RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad jitter View Post
I wonder if it would be possible to copy VR fader automation and paste it to volume automation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchwood Studios View Post
Yes you can.
How do you go about doing that? I tried copying the VR automation to the main volume automation, but nothing got copied.
__________________
Larry Bentley
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 10.3.10 HD3 Accel PCIe, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro Harpertown 8-core Dual 2.8GHz, 10GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
> Waves Vocal Rider - Live Howardk VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-30-2010 05:32 AM
Waves Vocal Rider = Cheating? gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-14-2010 12:22 AM
Waves Vocal Rider bug. usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-05-2010 04:00 PM
WaveRider or Vocal Rider from Waves? TiPo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-06-2009 12:41 AM
Waves vocal rider crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-03-2009 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com