Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:49 PM
stoox stoox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 157
Default Other things sneaking into the signal.

When im recording guitars for example and i use eleven i can hear other stuff sneaking into the signal.

like if i use a higher gain amp model the click seems to show up.
no other mics or anything is plugged in. and the click isn't going through that track.

its really really faint. but when it goes through the amp sims you can hear it when the guitar isn't playing...

oh and i have a faderport and when i touched the fader it made a buzzing noise on the same channel.

really weird. stuff like this has been going on a lot lately. what could it be?

im using 8.0 on mac with a FW410

the signal chain goes Guitar>Line 6 PodXT Live(as a DI and sometimes i may use the eq and compression)>line in on the back of the FW410.

I did move my interface more away from my monitors but im still getting it.
so i don't think that would be it but idk.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:58 PM
stoox stoox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 157
Default Re: Other things sneaking into the signal.

oh and every once in a while i get some type of radio sounds sneaking in....like i can tell someone is talking and sometimes music. its weird.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:10 PM
joeydego's Avatar
joeydego joeydego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 322
Default Re: Other things sneaking into the signal.

record with headphones on if this bothers you (it doesnt bother me). Higher gain pickups will pick up the click and some louder track material from the monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:39 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Other things sneaking into the signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydego View Post
Higher gain pickups will pick up the click and some louder track material from the monitors.
And wacky stuff like your wristwatch. Really resonant guitars can pick stuff up too. Like my ES 335.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:29 AM
stoox stoox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 157
Default Re: Other things sneaking into the signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
And wacky stuff like your wristwatch. Really resonant guitars can pick stuff up too. Like my ES 335.

im using my Les Paul standard and i put a dirty fingers in the bridge so im pretty sure thats the problem. Its a pretty hot pickup.

but the thing with my faderport was weird. and thats something i don't see how its relating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2009, 09:28 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Other things sneaking into the signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoox View Post
im using my Les Paul standard and i put a dirty fingers in the bridge so im pretty sure thats the problem. Its a pretty hot pickup.

but the thing with my faderport was weird. and thats something i don't see how its relating.
14K is pretty hot. Couple this with the gain of the plug (if your recording through it) and it might cause some issues. I tend the think that the Faderport issue might have something to do with the way things are grounded inside the computer and possibly how things are cabled. Example... while I know your using a FW410 there have been numerous cases of people eliminating noises by changing to balanced cables on MBoxes so theres a chance that its related to how things are connected.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio signal or midi signal after pro tools 8.04 upgrade allgenres 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-01-2010 08:58 AM
iMac G5 !!!good things and bad things!!! Jervy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-28-2005 01:36 AM
No Midi signal, no audio signal, buzzing monitors! 1tonstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-26-2004 07:01 AM
Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning? Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-23-2003 12:54 AM
synced with pro tools- see signal, but can't hear signal- HELP!!!! hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-30-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com