Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-14-2017, 02:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,225
Default Re: total newbie

Well you don't need a HD interface to use PTHD.

We use HD12 with Apollo interfaces and on our Macbooks we use on the road HD12 runs on the internal audio card.

You can get any interface that is compatible with your computer. Since PT9 you can use any 3rd party interface and no need for any Avid HD interfaces.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-16-2017, 02:24 AM
youngas75 youngas75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 167
Default Re: total newbie

Whereabouts in the UK are you? Some colleges or Universities close to you that run music courses may be able to help you out, Ask the tech there for some pointers. Better to have a face to face/phone conversation to get what you actually need sorted out instead of disjointed posts from here (although I've never received anything but great advice from here).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-05-2017, 06:56 AM
zakhilla zakhilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 5
Default Re: total newbie

im in medway/canturbury atm but i drive, also as saving for software have limited funds
any pointers would be amazing or emails etc
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-05-2017, 07:06 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by zakhilla View Post
hi all
i have just finished building my studio
i have a mac pro desktop computer
i am looking to get the whole pro tools package
i have used old versions of pro tools and logic

the first thing is apart from the pro tools specific apple keyboard what is the whole pro tools package? is it all soft ware? or is there hardware too? can they be bought separately?

are there any outlets in the uk? is it best to buy online? who is the most economic?

do i really need the latest? if i don't get the latest will there be crash or bug problems?
'I'm talking midi tracks (each instruments) when i get to edit i will separate the tracks (complete songs) and edit them separately"

since you have 100 tracks of Midi .. buy Logic for 200.00 US funds ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-05-2017, 07:14 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 954
Default Re: total newbie

Can't you find dealers of this type of equipment online and give them a call?

It's their job to give you various options within your budget.

C
__________________
PT 12.7.1 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-08-2017, 03:33 PM
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 175
Default Re: total newbie

as a starting point i'd recommend the regular PT12 for 99/year and if your only editing and mixing, a very basic audio interface. it doesn't have to be one from avid. you can even start with just the built in headphone and line outs of your computer!


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-08-2017, 11:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,035
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by jre3132 View Post
there was a fire in the building and my only copy of everything I had was inside.
Ouch!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-08-2017, 11:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,035
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinstar View Post
as a starting point i'd recommend the regular PT12 for 99/year and if your only editing and mixing, a very basic audio interface. it doesn't have to be one from avid. you can even start with just the built in headphone and line outs of your computer!
Yes! Though I wouldn't rely on that when "mastering" -- in my thinking that last phase should always be done with different hardware and most importantly in a different, very well tuned room.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-09-2017, 08:43 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes! Though I wouldn't rely on that when "mastering" -- in my thinking that last phase should always be done with different hardware and most importantly in a different, very well tuned room.
and to build on what Janne is saying, by another person with a fresh set of ears !!! Amen !!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-09-2017, 08:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,035
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
by another person with a fresh set of ears !!! Amen !!!
If possible, that would be the best
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total newbie to surround and a lot of questions soundworx Tips & Tricks 1 07-10-2007 02:33 PM
Anyone care to help a total newbie? T57Strat Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-16-2007 10:26 AM
HELP! Total Newbie... :) GoofyDawg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-11-2007 05:57 PM
Total and Utter Newbie! Help! matt_sefton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-19-2005 10:43 AM
Total Newbie HELP, please point me the right way.. zeropointone General Discussion 8 06-29-2004 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com