Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #151  
Old 11-01-2017, 08:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,876
Default Pro Tools MTRX

You are comparing a new product and a product at its end of life. And when Avid runs down the HD IO they can lower the price of the MTRX.

Do I need to draw a picture... Avid has exited making interfaces, the HD IO will be their last. They no longer have the technical resources to develop interfaces, and exiting that may be the best idea anyhow. They are now rebadging other companies products. Same in the video space. Anybody’s equipping a studio should think through what IO chassis they want to deploy and what one will be more flexible and have a long term future.

The HD IO is not competitive against products like the Apogee Symphony (more flexible, twice the density), and Avid needed a story with monitoring control etc. and seemed to have made a good decision. Hopefully as well the Dante story will become more important in future.

And that pricing comparison is not quite fair as the MTRX chassis has more IO expansion/flexibility compared to a HD IO.

If you want lowest cost 16x16 class IO there are lots of options out there, including non DigiLink interfaces. The HD IO just dies not look that competitive, say compared to an Apogee Symphony II or some similar products.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-01-2017 at 08:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 11-05-2017, 05:21 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 972
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

I doubt they are going to lower the price of the MTRX anytime soon... even if HD i/o runs out.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 11-18-2017, 09:18 AM
MatzeHD MatzeHD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

A important question, has the MTRX a radiator fan, like the other I/O Boxes on the side? If yes, how noisy is the fan?
Because, the fan from the I/O Box was still ok, a little bit louder as a good pc, but I dont needed a special cases!
I hope the MTRX is silent? :)
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 11-20-2017, 03:10 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,093
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatzeHD View Post
A important question, has the MTRX a radiator fan, like the other I/O Boxes on the side? If yes, how noisy is the fan?
Because, the fan from the I/O Box was still ok, a little bit louder as a good pc, but I dont needed a special cases!
I hope the MTRX is silent? :)
There is no fan on the DAD AX32 which is what the MTRX is made from.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:27 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr sound View Post
There is no fan on the DAD AX32 which is what the MTRX is made from.
Pretty sure I saw/heard a fan in my MTRX – also according to the DAD manual, there are two “Ultra low noise internal fan with speed adaptation
to the temperature”.
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:34 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,093
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

My answer is "There is no fan" on the side like MatzeHD asked about.
Unlike the 192's there is no fan on the side. If there is a fan internally it is
barely audible... EVER! If you have to look it up in the manual then you already have your answer. A fan is not an issue with the MTRX or DAD AX32.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:37 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr sound View Post
My answer is "There is no fan" on the side like MatzeHD asked about.
Unlike the 192's there is no fan on the side. If there is a fan internally it is
barely audible... EVER! If you have to look it up in the manual then you already have your answer. A fan is not an issue with the MTRX or DAD AX32.
Heh, fair enough I'm still putting mine in a machine room!
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 12-16-2017, 05:19 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

Question/possible feature request: is there a way for the sync source/sample rate/adapt to to be associated with a monitor source? I'd love to be able to select my CD player as a source without having to change DADman configurations, or having to insert a sample rate converter between the CD player and the MTRX. (Usually I'm running of the MTRX's internal clock at 96k.)
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 12-21-2017, 12:59 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

How are you inputing the CD signal into the MTRX. The add-on AES card has auto SRC (not the built into the box AES though)

As far as I can tell, much of the Pro Mon side does not talk to the DADman Conf. I think it'd be quite complicated to define what is "an input source" seeing as any input can be one and you can have any output (or multiple outputs). If I route two different sample rate input sources to two different outputs, what would take precedent? It would get confusing. Unlike something like a Grace m906, you can have multiple inputs and outputs active and controllable so there's no one-to-one input to output relationship.

I do know that if you have mismatching clocks on input sources while the "sum" option is selected, it'll change to switch mode for the output monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 12-21-2017, 01:04 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro Tools MTRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
How are you inputing the CD signal into the MTRX. The add-on AES card has auto SRC (not the built into the box AES though)
Just the built-in AES. The add-on AES card would be an expensive solution to this problem

Quote:
As far as I can tell, much of the Pro Mon side does not talk to the DADman Conf. I think it'd be quite complicated to define what is "an input source" seeing as any input can be one and you can have any output (or multiple outputs). If I route two different sample rate input sources to two different outputs, what would take precedent? It would get confusing. Unlike something like a Grace m906, you can have multiple inputs and outputs active and controllable so there's no one-to-one input to output relationship.
Hmm, that's a fair point, not sure if there's an elegant solution to this.
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com