Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-05-2015, 10:36 AM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 662
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Correct, it does not work with 11 and Yosemite.
I was hoping to hear it had been fixed with version 12.
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...

Last edited by ghostwriter; 10-05-2015 at 12:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-30-2015, 12:34 AM
Skytouch Skytouch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 105
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
I've recently purchased an HD Native PCI and an OMNI. Can't hear anything played through iTunes using internal/OS routing.

My previous audio hardware, 003, had no problems with this. I am used to being able to listen to music and watching shorts using my Avid hardware (sharing the same DA and equipment as my own projects).

I've just spent an hour trying to figure out what's wrong. Are you saying there's a bug, using HD hardware, that prevents one from hearing sounds from the OS and other applications than Pro Tools?


I've tried this with the 11.3.1 and 11.3.2 drivers. Not any 12.x drivers.
I gave up troubleshooting driver issues and routed my Mac audio optical output into SPDIF on the Omni. It generally works, with occasional small hiccups because the OMNI must slave to the Mac clock in this configuration. I leave OMNI as the master and deal with it.

Sky
__________________
(Opinions are my own, etc.)

Mac Pro 6-Core 3.33, 24 GB RAM, AVID HD Native, Omni I/O, Pro Tools 12.6.1, OSX 10.11.6.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-30-2015, 02:24 AM
Neil Pickles Neil Pickles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 257
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

This is a major issue for me. I use PT12.2.1 I also use Soundblade, iTunes, Youtibe, Soundcloud etc etc and why the hell can't I playback through core audio on my HDX card (if I'm not using Pro Tools) ??

I have a dual boot and I keep having to go back to my ML boot to use other apps it's a serious PITA and should be a priority fix.

I'm on a support plan and this has not been addressed.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-30-2015, 03:15 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 98
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

...shame on AVID! This is not what they promised with the new support plan.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-30-2015, 08:14 AM
pierrobass pierrobass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 50
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Hi folks,

I've found a way to listen to Itunes, safari etc.. on my HDX hardware on 10.10 by using "Sound nexus" plug in. :

http://source-elements.com/source-nexus/

Basically, sound nexus is an AAX plug in that can listen to the internal sound routing of your mac in pro tools.
Just have to set "sound nexus" as an output in the system sound panel, open an Aux track in PT with a sound nexus instance, and you're in business.
An expensive solution, but it works.
You can record everything from the web inside protools as well.

cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-30-2015, 03:53 PM
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 886
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierrobass View Post
Hi folks,

I've found a way to listen to Itunes, safari etc.. on my HDX hardware on 10.10 by using "Sound nexus" plug in. :

http://source-elements.com/source-nexus/

Basically, sound nexus is an AAX plug in that can listen to the internal sound routing of your mac in pro tools.
Just have to set "sound nexus" as an output in the system sound panel, open an Aux track in PT with a sound nexus instance, and you're in business.
An expensive solution, but it works.
You can record everything from the web inside protools as well.

cheers.

Thanks a Million for this!
__________________
Pro Tools 12.8.1 Vanilla | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Studio One 3 Pro | Apollo 8 Quad BF TB2 | UAD Octo Sat TB2 | UAD Quad Sat TB2 | Mac Pro 2014 3.5GHZ Hex D500 1TB SSD | 32GB Ram | MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 TB 2 | Drive's Samsung EVO 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Waves, Softube, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Digital, etc. | UA 6176 | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-31-2015, 08:13 AM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 662
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierrobass View Post
Hi folks,

I've found a way to listen to Itunes, safari etc.. on my HDX hardware on 10.10 by using "Sound nexus" plug in. :

http://source-elements.com/source-nexus/

Basically, sound nexus is an AAX plug in that can listen to the internal sound routing of your mac in pro tools.
Just have to set "sound nexus" as an output in the system sound panel, open an Aux track in PT with a sound nexus instance, and you're in business.
An expensive solution, but it works.
You can record everything from the web inside protools as well.

cheers.
The site says PT 11 with no mention of 12.
Do you know if it works with 12?

Also, hows does this work when you go to YouTube for example?
How would you watch videos without audio latency?
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-31-2015, 12:49 PM
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wyoming & Colorado .
Posts: 664
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierrobass View Post
Hi folks,

I've found a way to listen to Itunes, safari etc.. on my HDX hardware on 10.10 by using "Sound nexus" plug in. :

http://source-elements.com/source-nexus/

Basically, sound nexus is an AAX plug in that can listen to the internal sound routing of your mac in pro tools.
Just have to set "sound nexus" as an output in the system sound panel, open an Aux track in PT with a sound nexus instance, and you're in business. .
An expensive solution, but it works.
You can record everything from the web inside protools as well.

cheers.
While it is very generous for you to have posted this work around and thanks for doing so . Unfortunately it does not change the fact that it has been a year or so that this has not been fixed by a driver update. I love my PTHDN-Omni system but honestly it is pretty ridiculous that we are actually past Yosemite and into El Capitan, gone through several 11 and 12 updates and still Avid can't get it's premier HD hardware to play coreaudio on more than a year old OS............... THERE IS SOMETHING VERY VERY WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE

IT SHOULD NOT BE UP TO CUSTOMERS TO FIND WORKAROUNDS A YEAR OUT ....PERIOD
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 12.8.1 on OS 10.12.6 Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Apple 1TB HDD and PT sessions storage on Apple 2TB HDD--


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-31-2015, 03:02 PM
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 886
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
While it is very generous for you to have posted this work around and thanks for doing so . Unfortunately it does not change the fact that it has been a year or so that this has not been fixed by a driver update. I love my PTHDN-Omni system but honestly it is pretty ridiculous that we are actually past Yosemite and into El Capitan, gone through several 11 and 12 updates and still Avid can't get it's premier HD hardware to play coreaudio on more than a year old OS............... THERE IS SOMETHING VERY VERY WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE

IT SHOULD NOT BE UP TO CUSTOMERS TO FIND WORKAROUNDS A YEAR OUT ....PERIOD

I agree 100% It really is a shame.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.8.1 Vanilla | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Studio One 3 Pro | Apollo 8 Quad BF TB2 | UAD Octo Sat TB2 | UAD Quad Sat TB2 | Mac Pro 2014 3.5GHZ Hex D500 1TB SSD | 32GB Ram | MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 TB 2 | Drive's Samsung EVO 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Waves, Softube, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Digital, etc. | UA 6176 | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-31-2015, 03:11 PM
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 886
Default Re: HD Hardware & CoreAudio on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostwriter View Post
The site says PT 11 with no mention of 12.
Do you know if it works with 12?

Also, hows does this work when you go to YouTube for example?
How would you watch videos without audio latency?
It works great on Pt 12. It's a good way to make a profit at Avid's down fall, but I'm glad I purchased it. IMHO, it actually works better than Avid's Coreaudio manager ever did and a much better work around then using S/PDiF. It's seamless and I must add it sound much better than using SPDIF thru the Mac Sound Card.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.8.1 Vanilla | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Studio One 3 Pro | Apollo 8 Quad BF TB2 | UAD Octo Sat TB2 | UAD Quad Sat TB2 | Mac Pro 2014 3.5GHZ Hex D500 1TB SSD | 32GB Ram | MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 TB 2 | Drive's Samsung EVO 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Waves, Softube, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Digital, etc. | UA 6176 | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite ronwasserman Pro Tools Software (Mac) 41 12-10-2015 05:05 PM
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 Discussion 4 06-18-2015 12:27 PM
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 07:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com