Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 04:51 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Do hard drives go into sleep mode

I don't have sleep setting on my system preferences bu once in a while I get the spinning beachball in protools 8.0.3cs2 and i hear one of my hard drive start spinning up as if it were asleep. Is this normal or is there some setting that is doing this.

If all my samples from Kontakt etc are streaming this is not good. I noticed it happending when I reactivated plugins

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2010, 05:02 PM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

You may have auto save enabled.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2010, 05:23 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

I have auto save off. so i its not that. it has to be something else. do western digiatal drives have any kind of auto shutdown on there drives. i erased the drives and reformatted them when i got them
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2010, 05:33 PM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

I've seen Seagates in the cheap grey chassis spin down when idle - and some USB drives that clients have brought me for backups. I hate both. I have a total irrational hatred for anything WD, but it seems some drives' chassis have this 'feature' - I'm guessing it's better for the environment or some kind of energy-saving deal.
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2010, 05:44 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

i think that is is it. isnt protools always scanning drive s when you are working. and if one is dormant and has to spin back up then it can choke the system?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2010, 07:56 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,982
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

Lots of the "green" drives do have spin down or speed reduction and are bad for use with any DAW.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2010, 08:35 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,170
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Russell View Post
I have a total irrational hatred for anything WD
+1. I loathe WD as well. Every WD drive I've had failed prematurely. They also tend to be noisy, at least the ones I've had.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2010, 09:27 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

The Seagate 1T and 1.5T 7200 rpm drives up until very recently had a firmware bug that would cause them to spin down for about 10 seconds every 10 minutes or so.

I have four 1.5T ones in my MacPro, and when I first got them, saw this problem a lot. A new firmware squashed the bug, but if you're running Seagates, this could be the issue.

I upgraded my firmware on all four drives and haven't had any problems since.

Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2010, 11:05 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

Hi
That is crazy. the drive that is doing that spin down and up is my seagate 2terabyte. do i have to reinitialize the drive to update the firmware.?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:14 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,259
Default Re: Do hard drives go into sleep mode

I'm seeing this more and more with the move to green. The WD Black drives have been very good so far.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12~HDX~HDN
Studio One 3.3~DP9
HD Omni~192 I/O
MOTU 24 I/O
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sleep mode Maddawg383 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 07-24-2011 12:30 PM
WD MyBook Drives (eSATA) And Sleep Mode. . . (Asus P5K WiFi) epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-24-2009 08:30 PM
sleep mode madeupmind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-23-2007 10:43 AM
9.1 and Sleep Mode Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-10-2001 08:19 PM
Sleep Mode Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-20-2000 05:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com