Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2007, 03:58 PM
GoofyDawg GoofyDawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default HELP! Total Newbie... :)

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I'm really new to using a MIDI device with ProTools and badly need some help. I thank you in advance for your patience!

I just purchased a M-Audio ProKeys 88 piano to use for both live performance and to use as a MIDI controller in ProTools. I installed the drivers into my XP Pro system, and they installed without a hitch. As an experiment, I started up Reason Adapted to see if I could get a signal, and it worked fine. Now, my challenge is setting up the keyboard in ProTools (LE using an MBOX 2). I got a little confused by the ProTools Method One DVD.

All I want to do is use the keyboard to drive !Xpand, but I'm stuck at setting up the I/O and such so I can start recording with my keyboard. Can someone guide me in this process?

A million thanks!

GoofyDawg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:09 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,160
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

I've got a new tutorial on my website that is non-plugin specific that you might find useful. I've also got plans to add XPand! specific tutorials there later this month.

There might be other things there that you would find useful as well, so feel free to browse around.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:12 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,160
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

P.S. Welcome to the DUC.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:06 PM
GoofyDawg GoofyDawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

Thanks for the reply and warm welcome!

Would you know of or have info on actually setting up a MIDI device in ProTools? I think I did it correctly, but I'm not absolutely sure. Or better yet, if you could point me to the documentation that describes that, that would be great!

Again, thanks so much for your help!

GoofyDawg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:41 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,160
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

There's really not much to setup. If you have the drivers installed in windows properly, You really shouldn't have to do much else in Pro Tools with regards to just a MIDI keyboard controller. The device should be available from the MIDI I/O menus by default, and you should be able to either select "All" from that dropdown, or select that device specifically and it should just work. Very much like my tutorial described.

Is there something else you are trying to do with it other than trigger softsunths like XPand?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:45 PM
GoofyDawg GoofyDawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

I guess I was just over-complicating things then - happens a lot

I thought there was some other stuff that I had to do. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:57 PM
GoofyDawg GoofyDawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: HELP! Total Newbie... :)

Just finished reading through several of your "How Do I..." articles, and I just wanted to say that you've made my life so much easier! I can't thank you enough for your intelligent, well-thought-out articles!

GoofyDawg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total newbie to surround and a lot of questions soundworx Tips & Tricks 1 07-10-2007 02:33 PM
Anyone care to help a total newbie? T57Strat Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-16-2007 10:26 AM
M-audio question - total newbie haven 712 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-28-2007 09:50 AM
Total and Utter Newbie! Help! matt_sefton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-19-2005 10:43 AM
Total Newbie HELP, please point me the right way.. zeropointone General Discussion 8 06-29-2004 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com