Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-2005, 05:34 AM

Default Total and Utter Newbie! Help!

Hi -

first post here! I'm a guitarist who has been playing for 27 years and have done quite a bit of recording on standard analog systems and hard disk recorders. My only experience of computer-based recording has been with Line 6's Rifftracker software, which I enjoyed using but was very basic. I run a design company in the UK with a lot of Macs so I thought it was about time I jumped into the world of ProTools!

I have an MBox 1 system running on a G5 iMac under Tiger. No problems with installation, etc. The problem is... where do I start!!! I have been so used to (on my old systems) basically programming my drum track on an Alesis SR-16 drum machine, recording a song's entire drum pattern then overdubbing guitars, etc.

ProTools has baffled me with talk of sequencing, midi, loops, etc! Could anyone explain to me the basics of putting together a drum track for a song? Am I right in thinking that I do this by assembling together drum samples? If so, where do I get the samples???

As you can probably tell, I am completely clueless at the moment! I have a good knowledge of computers and pick things up pretty quickly once I've been nudged in the right direction, so if any kind soul would be prepared to show me the ropes I'd be eternally grateful.

Cheers!

Matt
Old 10-19-2005, 07:12 AM

Default Re: Total and Utter Newbie! Help!

Matt
Welcome to the wonderful world of Protools, it really si a great tool especially for someone like you who has been playing with the stuff you have.