Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2016, 08:31 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 248
Default New studio rack

I'm a woodworker as well as a musician. I decided to combine the hobbies and I built myself a new rack for my home studio. I plan to add some drawers to the unused space at the bottom. It's made out all solid cherry, finished with satin polyurethane (general finishes brand).

If anyone wants more details on the woodworking aspect let me know.

Curious what everyone thinks.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-03-28 22.03.45.jpg (32.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 2016-03-28 22.03.59.jpg (37.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 2016-03-28 22.24.38.jpg (22.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2016, 09:19 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: New studio rack

Looks great! I'm a big fan of cherry, but it gets pricey when you need a whole studio full of furniture. That's why I went with oak and black formica herehttps://www.facebook.com/14964242841...type=3&theater
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2016, 09:26 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 248
Default Re: New studio rack

I get cherry fairly cheaply since i get it directly from a logger who mills his own.

But you do need a pretty decently-equipped shop to deal with rough cut lumber.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2016, 09:22 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,743
Default Re: New studio rack

very nice .. !! i made a 3x 12 space side by side 30 degree angle .. was a very nice touch as your s is .. Cherry is very sweet ... feels good to work with wood ..

cheers john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2016, 09:30 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,655
Default Re: New studio rack

Looks great!!!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2016, 11:26 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: New studio rack

Those walnut pegs are a very nice touch.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2016, 02:30 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 248
Default Re: New studio rack

The whole front of the rack.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2016, 02:34 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,886
Default Re: New studio rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
The whole front of the rack.
Thanks - that was quick. Wish I had the tools and skill to do that kind of work. All I have is an old table saw, couple of drills and some hand tools. Anything beyond square cuts and I'm struggling.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2016, 04:43 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 248
Default Re: New studio rack

Just takes time, Jack. I've been into woodworking for longer than I've been into recording :)

Angles are still tough for me to wrap my head around sometimes. The tricky part with the drawers was that the drawer boxes themselves were vertical. The fronts had to be angled and also sit flush against the rack rail. A friend who is both a musician and a woodworker came up with the idea to do the angled rabbet (the groove on the edges) to butt up against the rack rail.

Here's a couple more pictures showing how it works.

Oh, and the drawers are removable to make room for more gear should he get any :)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-06-26 13.32.58.jpg (27.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 2016-06-25 15.34.32.jpg (63.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-10-2016, 07:48 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: New studio rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I'm a woodworker as well as a musician. I decided to combine the hobbies and I built myself a new rack for my home studio. I plan to add some drawers to the unused space at the bottom. It's made out all solid cherry, finished with satin polyurethane (general finishes brand).

If anyone wants more details on the woodworking aspect let me know.

Curious what everyone thinks.

Thanks.
Did you use a Dado Blade on your table saw to make those end cuts?

Did you use the dow to secure the ends, or did you screw and use the dow to cover the screw?

Looks great!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gator Studio 2 Go 2U Rack Bay - anyone have it? edgarbc1 General Discussion 2 02-26-2010 07:12 PM
Whats your protools 003 rack studio? What are you using, how much plus El_Tigre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-06-2008 05:41 PM
Drive rack studio???????? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-14-2004 08:15 PM
drive rack studio? kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-29-2003 08:37 AM
Best power conditioner for studio rack? PDupre Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-05-2002 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com