Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:50 AM
LarryMal LarryMal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Default Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

I've seen this problem posted here before and think it is fairly common, but the search didn't turn up an answer for me. Anyway, I have Pro Tools M Powered 7.4 having been one of the upgrades from Academic 7.3. My iLok is up to date, I had to update that for the 7.4 upgrade. I am running a Power Mac G5 (PPC) with Tiger 10.4.11, 4 GB's of RAM, and an M-Audio 192 as the soundcard. There is no other interface going into it today. Pro Tools 7.4 had always worked for the last few months with no problems, so I have used it, lightly, anyway.

I upgraded to the 7.4cs3 thinking that might help, now it bounces in the dock 3 or 4 times instead of once, anyway. I have restarted the computer with the upgrade, no help. Ableton Live 5, Digital Performer 5.13 and Logic Pro 8.0.1 all boot up OK, so this tells me the problem is not likely with Core Audio but more likely isolated to Pro Tools. Any thoughts?

Now that I think about it I do have the trial of Eleven, which I never used or even started to use yet. Could this be the problem?
Thanks in advance all, L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2008, 10:49 AM
TechKnowledgy TechKnowledgy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 149
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...0&itemid=28438
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2008, 11:10 AM
LarryMal LarryMal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

Thanks for the quick response- good idea, but no go. I also forgot I hadn't run the repair permissions in a couple of weeks, so I did that. Still bounces. I am downloading the 10.4.11 "Combo" update, which I am almost certain I already did- I never take Apple's stack updates anymore. So it should be done in a minute, but so far, no luck. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2008, 11:47 AM
LarryMal LarryMal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

No help with the Combo update either.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

try making a new user account on the computer
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:03 AM
LarryMal LarryMal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

I'm not sure how to do that, make a new user account. Other than the Admin account I always use?

I last used PT about two weeks ago. Nothing had changed that I'm aware of, nothing of any significance anyway.

My fear is this: I was one of those who got the upgrade from the Academic 7.3 to the M-Powered 7.4. I'm loathe to reinstall the whole thing, and I'm not sure if the download for the 7.4 is still there in the first place, since it was said to be a limited time thing. Does anyone know if I should just do this and shut up about it, or should I keep messing with solutions for a while?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:21 AM
Berkesound Berkesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

The failure to launch is one of the known problems with running ProTools on 10.4.10 and 10.4.11. All versions of PT (LE, M-Powered and HD) on a PPC (and most versions on Intel Mac) are only officially qualified up through 10.4.9.

We experienced the same problem back with LE 7.3 when we updated to 10.4.10. Reinstalling your OS and then using the 10.4.9 combo upgrade is the only permanent solution.

It's a huge pain, I know. We've formatted one of our computers here five times because of various version compatibility problems before we found a combination that works.

Moral of the story: find out what version of OSX your software is qualified to work with, install that version, and then leave it that way. Apple's bizzare obsession with totally overhauling an OS to the point that it makes programs not work makes updating very dangerous. While a new OS version might sport snazzy new features, you should carefully consider the headaches upgrading causes before committing to anything.

Ryan Dorp
Robert Berke Sound
San Francisco, CA
__________________
Berke Sound
San Francisco, CA
www.berkesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2008, 01:59 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

Have you run the pre-binding script? I know you said you downloaded and installed the combo update, which should have fixed the problem, but if it doesn't the pre-binding script almost always fixes this issue. http://www.paceap.com/prebind_script.dmg at this point, I don't know what else to tell you.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2008, 02:59 PM
JChance JChance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 231
Default Re: Pro Tools just bounces in the dock...

I also had Academic 7.3 and got the upgrade to M-Powered 7.4. If you got the upgrade email from Digi and downloaded the 7.4 license onto your iLok, you can download 7.4 here:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=28542

I'm running 10.4.11 on a Powerbook with 7.4 with no issues whatsoever. Just for good measure, I downloaded the latest 7.4 update, which is 7.4.cs3, I think. The CS3 update in on the Digi site under "Support and downloads." Just click on M-Powered for Mac and you will see the download section.

By the way, I didn't even have to run the pre-binding script. 10.4.11 and MP 7.4 are working fine on this machine, and worked without issue on the iBook G4 I just recently sold as well..


Quote:
I'm not sure how to do that, make a new user account. Other than the Admin account I always use?

I last used PT about two weeks ago. Nothing had changed that I'm aware of, nothing of any significance anyway.

My fear is this: I was one of those who got the upgrade from the Academic 7.3 to the M-Powered 7.4. I'm loathe to reinstall the whole thing, and I'm not sure if the download for the 7.4 is still there in the first place, since it was said to be a limited time thing. Does anyone know if I should just do this and shut up about it, or should I keep messing with solutions for a while?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Bounces in Dock for awhile before launching Boogie457 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-12-2010 10:46 AM
Pro Tools just bounces in the dock? Smithcok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-31-2008 12:32 PM
PT LE 7.3.1cs4 will not launch - bounces once in the dock... jdjustice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-11-2007 06:42 AM
PT just bounces in dock ... help please wonderlover 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-23-2007 10:14 PM
Pro Tools Won't Open Just Bounces In The Dock bane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-01-2007 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com