Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-07-2011, 12:01 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Being that you are using the same HD gear on both Either the 192, 96, HD I/O, Omni or what ever. There shouldn't be a difference at all in the quality of the sound.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:49 PM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 270
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Yes.



Yes



BIG difference!

Shane



Only a hobo would say that pro tools native "sounds better" than Pro Tools HD.

Extensive testing has revealed that hobos are frequently wrong about Pro Tools, and about the way things sound.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2011, 09:43 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

The 2 systems accomplish their mixing 2 different ways. It's entirely possible that the 64 bit floating point processing of HD Native sounds better. Unless you've done a test yourself, you may not be aware of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-08-2011, 01:56 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

ain't the processing still done by the PC (or Mac) Anyways? So limited by the 32 bit application for both system?
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:21 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 270
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
The 2 systems accomplish their mixing 2 different ways. It's entirely possible that the 64 bit floating point processing of HD Native sounds better. Unless you've done a test yourself, you may not be aware of it.
That's not how it works.

It is a hobo fable.

HD is better. It is the law.

The hobo fable tries to break the law. The law that cannot be broken, of which we do not speak.

Are we not men? Do we not use the TDM? Do we not shun the hobo?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:41 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,280
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by koka View Post
We tested properly and Native deffinetevly sounds better than TDM.
Anything quantifiable? They sound the same to me, but maybe I have cloth ears. (Though my mixes never peak above around -10dBFS, if that's anything to do with it. I'm never 'going over' and then pulling down with master faders or any of that nonsense.)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:52 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 833
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
I'm never 'going over' and then pulling down with master faders or any of that nonsense.
Ha ha..!

Some proper trolling going on in that thread...!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:50 PM
koka koka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Serbia
Posts: 169
Default Re: HD Native with TDM hardware possible

Hobo lobo bobo ....

We have HD4 in studio and from now HD native also.

Test was done on the same 192 io and PMC system.

We are very dissapointed people dont respond to our previous thread

about overall sound quality is different with short and long delay compensation (short sounds better !) to us.

Smaller computer buffer also sounds better try 128 vs 1024 and hear the difference?

Hobo lobo bobo....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there an official HD Native to HDX hardware exchange? jacko Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 07-18-2013 09:17 AM
Can PT11HD be installed without HDX or HD Native hardware? Mauro371 Pro Tools 11 14 04-19-2013 12:49 PM
Hardware upgrade to HD Native / Pro Tools 10 SZE Pro Tools 10 2 04-10-2013 06:27 PM
Firmware related errors and resolutions for HD|Native Hardware DigiTechSupt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 09-16-2011 11:01 AM
Firmware related errors and resolutions for HD|Native Hardware DigiTechSupt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-16-2011 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com