Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:31 PM
udo4accept udo4accept is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peoria, AZ USA
Posts: 10
Default bouncing to disk

ok, this was my first recording and i did it at 96k instead of 44.1k so lesson learned there. but the problem is that i can't bounce it to disk, even converting it to 44.1k even when i try to play it on the computer! any tips or hints here? i'm brand new so take it easy on me!
__________________
I drive way too fast to worry about cholesterol
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2005, 07:34 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Why can't you bounce it to disk?
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:49 AM
Joz Joz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Quote:
Why can't you bounce it to disk?
He's asking that question!
Hmmm. It could be a bunch of things. Do you have an uncompatible motherboard?(if you're using PC) maybe you have the internet on? that gives me problems, always! disable all the aplications in your lower left screen.
Do you have a slow comp?
You have to give more info about your setup.

Joz
__________________
"I never hit a women with her clothes on!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:01 PM
udo4accept udo4accept is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peoria, AZ USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disk

it's a brand new G5 Mac with 1GB of memory and the only app running is Protools 6.7. i do have the mac connected to my network for internet access. i was able to make a .wav file from it, but nothing on the mac would play it. i burned it to cd and imported it to soundforge 7.0 on my pc. it would play it but nothing else would. i had soundforge convert it to mp3 files, then i burned the song to audio cd and it played. it really shouldn't be this hard should it?!
__________________
I drive way too fast to worry about cholesterol
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2005, 01:54 PM
FSuarez FSuarez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 41
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Try bouncing it as an AIFF file instead...It should work with no problems
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2005, 06:04 PM
Joz Joz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Fsuarez ir right. And if that doesnt work maybe you have the wrong settings bouncing to disk. If you are bouncing at 96k, maybe thats why other apps wont play it.

Joz
__________________
"I never hit a women with her clothes on!"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2005, 09:10 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Quote:
Why can't you bounce it to disk?
I think the question to the question is warranted and is really asking, what are the symptoms? It is hard to help when there is no information. What steps are you taking? Is the computer crashing? Aborting? Freezing? Are there any error messages? Maybe the menu item is grayed out? What is the deal?
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:15 AM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: bouncing to disk

Quote:
it's a brand new G5 Mac with 1GB of memory and the only app running is Protools 6.7. i do have the mac connected to my network for internet access. i was able to make a .wav file from it, but nothing on the mac would play it. i burned it to cd and imported it to soundforge 7.0 on my pc. it would play it but nothing else would. i had soundforge convert it to mp3 files, then i burned the song to audio cd and it played. it really shouldn't be this hard should it?!
If your WAV file is 24bits nothing will play it except Sound Forge or Wavelab. In the Bounce window make sure you are selecting 16bits (if you want to use PT for dither).

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2005, 08:22 AM
udo4accept udo4accept is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peoria, AZ USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disk

thanks s0nguy, that was the problem! damn, i can't believe i overlooked that. i figured it had to be something simple, but that simple?!
__________________
I drive way too fast to worry about cholesterol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing to Disk Noobish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 05-15-2011 02:29 PM
Bouncing in session first vs. bouncing straight to disk... WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-07-2007 04:17 PM
Bouncing to disk marcioguitar Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 05-30-2007 01:50 AM
Bouncing to Disk sh336697 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-24-2004 01:46 PM
Bouncing To Disk brianpatrick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-26-2003 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com