Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2018, 08:03 PM
Protu Protu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default Could not create New Doc. Too Many Levels

I hope this is an easy fix Here is my error message.

Could not create a new document because Too many levels of symbolic links (62) while creating "session name here"

I totally deleted Protools off my mac. Then reinstalled everything. Everything was working great then i got this error. I tried deleting the prefs first. Then i deleted everything. All prefs, plugs, everyfile i could find related to Digidesign and Avid. I downloaded everything and reinstalled it. Still the same error. I have no symbolic links everything is installed on the local hardrive.




MacOS High Sierrra
10.13.3
Universal Audio Apollo twin
Macbook Mid 2015
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2018, 08:16 PM
Protu Protu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Could not create New Doc. Too Many Levels

i fixed it. When i had Location selected as the place to save the document i got the error. When i switched it to prompt for location protools loaded fine. So, I selected location again but changed the folder to a hard drive and it worked. I switched it back to the Users/yourname/documents.. I got the error again

This is apples fault. Thats my story and im sticking to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2018, 08:59 AM
ehaber ehaber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 23
Default Re: Could not create New Doc. Too Many Levels

Don't think it's an issue with Macs per se. I've run into a similar issue with PCs. Basically, there's a limitation of the numbers of characters (letters/numbers/punctuation marks, etc.) you can have in a series of folders and subfolders. Therefore, if your folder has a long name and then you have subfolder with a long name, etc., at some point the operating system won't let you add a file to the end subfolder because the total path has two many characters. Sounds like what you're seeing here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create Project vs. Create Sessions metalmixer Getting Started 2 09-12-2016 09:55 AM
Tracking Levels and Playback Levels paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 11-26-2010 06:37 PM
Creating the best mix levels / playback levels universe777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-25-2006 11:49 PM
Broadcast levels vs. Podcast levels... McBoob Post - Surround - Video 0 05-05-2006 09:03 AM
Linking track levels w/ pre-fader bus levels? Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-07-2003 11:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com