Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2018, 09:30 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 386
Default Weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on macOS 10.13.3

Anybody else getting weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on the latest OS X? Seeing things like the smart tool icon not change appropriately sometimes when I hover over certain track areas.

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 04-24-2018 at 09:30 PM. Reason: Moved from unrelated thread for better visibility.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2018, 11:49 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Anybody else getting weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on the latest OS X? Seeing things like the smart tool icon not change appropriately sometimes when I hover over certain track areas.
hmm none of that over here..

So far since I bought into Pro Tools in Dec 2015, this is the best version I have ever used. I haven't had a single crash and performance seems even slightly improved (still no where near cubase/Logic levels at 32 or 64 buffer, but better).
performance at 128 buffer is outstanding, including absolute full utilisation of my 8 logical cores.

I am using halion sonic in it which is a very heavy vsti, Steinberg have made it AAX native for the first time, and it's running like a dream at 128. I have 30 tracks going of just halion sonics here.. real cpu usage is 701% in activity monitor, pro tools meter is 90%, all cores equally hammered, and it plays back reliably.

In fact, for now I am holding off on moving to Cubase but rather perhaps using some midi features in it like the chord track but mixing down in PT all the way. This is because I am very impressed with 2018.3

If Avid can add folders, elastic pitch and just improve performance a bit further, I won't even look at another DAW again let alone try it.

PS while you are at it avid, the biggest complaint on youtube is the 32 i/o limit.. people are leaving rather than upgrading to HD hardware.. (not to forget hd hardware is very noisy which is another main reason some decide against it as it forces use of a machine room or very expensive iso box).

Just get with the program Avid, and make it 128 input or heck even 64. 128 makes sense since Vanilla is 128 tracks. For those that use HD software, allow the 256 inputs with core audio, any interface of their choice.

This Daw is *so* close to being the best on planet Earth, and I hope Avid realises that they will actually *gain* market share if they stop these silly restrictions.

Peace.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2018, 12:06 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 454
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Anybody else getting weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on the latest OS X? Seeing things like the smart tool icon not change appropriately sometimes when I hover over certain track areas.
Yes. Happened with 2018.1 as well. I'm on 10.12.6
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:04 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,626
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
Yes. Happened with 2018.1 as well. I'm on 10.12.6
Is this unique to 10.12.6?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:26 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Is this unique to 10.12.6?
well no cause i'm on 10.12.6 and everything has been perfect.. it could be due to a particular graphics card? For what it's worth mine's an nvidia 750.. on my imac with ATI 6970m graphics, I am still on PT 12.8.2
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2018, 02:56 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 507
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Anybody else getting weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on the latest OS X? Seeing things like the smart tool icon not change appropriately sometimes when I hover over certain track areas.
Yes. Seeing this here. Driving me crazy....
__________________
10.12.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 32 gigs Ram, Apollo, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2018.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2018, 05:17 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 429
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Anybody else getting weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on the latest OS X? Seeing things like the smart tool icon not change appropriately sometimes when I hover over certain track areas.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
Yes. Seeing this here. Driving me crazy....
Yes I see that too, it's intermittent...and annoying! Sometimes if I have Safari or Mail open in the background, quitting it/them solves the problem, and sometimes my smart tool gets smart again if I move the cursor rapidly! But it's not just 2018.3, I noticed this in 2018.1 and 12.8.3 as well. Can't remember if 12.8.1 had this problem.

When 2018.3 was released I thought they fixed it but after a while the bug came back.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2.4 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.13.6 / Pro Tools 2018.7
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Weird 44.1/48k mono mp3 bug in PT 2018.1? off the wall Pro Tools 2018 0 02-24-2018 09:51 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
Sluggish Zoom in/out + scrub issues 2018.1 (MacOS 10.13.3) Hrmonik Pro Tools 2018 0 01-28-2018 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com