Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2018, 12:23 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

I know it was just released. Did anyone the plunge? If so, how are things running?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:05 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 662
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

Justy fine here. 2013 MacPRO and 2017 Macbook Pro
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2018, 02:07 PM
zerodistraction zerodistraction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 30
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

Working fine here with 2018.4. Use at your own peril though as our hardware and plugin configs are different. Personally I’ve never had issues with patching macOS. It’s only jumping from one major version to another where serious problems can happen. Maybe I’m lucky.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2018, 12:42 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

+1

No problems here as well.

2014 Macbook Pro i7 Quad, 16GB Ram, Apollo Thunderbolt series 1, UA Octo Satellite, macOS 10.13.6, Pro Tools 2018.4 HD+Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2018, 11:46 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,193
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

Ok, since you guys have no issues, may I at least ask what latency you are running?
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2018, 11:33 AM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

I generally run at 256 when tracking.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2018, 12:40 PM
ktmcgraw ktmcgraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

I did. Now I'm having latency while recording even though low latency monitoring is turned on. While recording I can get it to stop by turning low latency off and back on again, but every time I hit record there's latency again. No good. Anyone have a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2018, 03:24 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,979
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

"... every time I hit record there's latency again. No good. Anyone have a solution?"

Does your Master fader have zero plugins?
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:
Pro Tools U-2018.10 MacOS 10.14.1 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(HUI- MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2018, 03:39 AM
Bfrink1971 Bfrink1971 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Beverly Hills, MI
Posts: 5
Default Re: macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmcgraw View Post
I did. Now I'm having latency while recording even though low latency monitoring is turned on. While recording I can get it to stop by turning low latency off and back on again, but every time I hit record there's latency again. No good. Anyone have a solution?


It appears to be a bug.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=396670

Try turning quick punch on and then off again. This seems to fix the problem for me, at least until I arm another track for record.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 08:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
Weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on macOS 10.13.3 Chingy Pro Tools 2018 6 04-06-2018 06:17 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 05:41 PM
Sluggish Zoom in/out + scrub issues 2018.1 (MacOS 10.13.3) Hrmonik Pro Tools 2018 0 01-28-2018 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com