Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2018, 03:16 PM
kmhaynes49 kmhaynes49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 4
Default Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

After a recording session yesterday, I made sure to save my work and wait for the task manager to finish, then closed ProTools. Five minutes later, I went to open my projects, and all of my projects- not just the one I was working on - are listed as "Not Available", with the message "Project is uploading from another system" (See attached picture). I don't have ProTools on any other computers. When I open any project, it's completely blank with all tracks deleted. Is there any way to recover my work?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ProTools Snip.jpg (43.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2018, 04:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Are you working on "sessions" or "projects"? Sessions should be saved on your system, but projects are in the cloud(which means you need a really dependable internet connection)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2018, 04:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,929
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Are you working on "sessions" or "projects"? Sessions should be saved on your system, but projects are in the cloud(which means you need a really dependable internet connection)
Pro Tools *First* so they are suffering along with flakey cloud based projects...

I would try is log out and log back into Avid on a really reliable connection.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-29-2018 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2018, 07:26 PM
kmhaynes49 kmhaynes49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 4
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

I haven't been able to save locally (I'd really like to be able to do so for exactly this reason), but ProTools First with the cloud plan I'm using won't enable local saving. I've tried logging out of Avid and logging back in, rebooting my computer, and uninstalling/reinstalling ProTools with no luck. I'm probably going to switch to a different software that is more friendly to newer/younger artists who aren't able to shell out the cash for the standard software suite, and also provides the ability for local saving/back up and free customer support to solve glitches like this. I just want to know if there is any way to recover my files from the cloud, like if there is a revision history or a backup cache in the cloud (my local cache didn't work). I always thought the ability to revert and recover was supposed to be the main highlight of cloud-based storage.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2018, 06:56 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Your best bet would be Avid support. They will be able to look on the cloud side of things and see if any of your files made the transfer. They can also help to see if there is anything recoverable from the local cache.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2018, 07:13 AM
kmhaynes49 kmhaynes49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 4
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Avid says, "Assisted support is not provided for Pro Tools First. Users are encouraged to post to the Pro Tools First Discussion Group." Is there a way I can get help directly from Avid? I'm not going to pay to upgrade the software that just deleted all of my work, and I don't want to pay $40 for a support call that is just going to tell me they don't provide support for the software I have.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ro-Tools-First
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2018, 10:16 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,717
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmhaynes49 View Post
Avid says, "Assisted support is not provided for Pro Tools First. Users are encouraged to post to the Pro Tools First Discussion Group." Is there a way I can get help directly from Avid? I'm not going to pay to upgrade the software that just deleted all of my work, and I don't want to pay $40 for a support call that is just going to tell me they don't provide support for the software I have.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ro-Tools-First

You can start up a support case through http://avid.force.com/Support/Regist...eation#s=step1
You'll be supported through Email
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:45 PM
boonespooner boonespooner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

Hi did you ever find an answer to this?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2020, 07:22 PM
kmhaynes49 kmhaynes49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 4
Default Re: Files Not Available, All My Tracks Blank

No, I never got a response. I got sick of protools and switched to cubase. I've been really happy with it. Protools is great if you can afford the pro version, but on my budget it just made more sense to get a different DAW and start from scratch than deal with my files getting deleted, lack of storage, and lack of support.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Blank' files after bounce COT2012 Pro Tools 11 6 12-24-2016 03:33 PM
Audio files on one FW Drive render blank audio files when copied ridmik Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 03-30-2012 12:55 PM
Blank Unique IDs! Cant re-link files, please help inso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-26-2008 02:53 AM
deleting blank space at end of tracks ronmann Tips & Tricks 3 07-09-2006 08:16 AM
session is blank with none of the tracks onecrackedmind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-07-2004 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com