Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-06-2013, 02:22 AM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiahmoore View Post
The analogue way:
Purportedly, Richard Beggs uses a piece of tape across the bottom of his video monitor, labelled in percentages Left / Center / Right. (per the Pro Tools panner.)
well... I believe he may have found a more satisfying solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Justin, given that 11 will have MC's video engine have you looked at making the pan positions a generated overlay like TC window, subtitles or, watermark?
I would love to but first AVID needs to agree it's a good idea.
by all means add your voices to the chorus but we should also let them get PT11 nice and solid before we start injecting too many new ideas.

justin
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2013, 06:55 AM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiahmoore View Post
The analogue way:
Purportedly, Richard Beggs uses a piece of tape across the bottom of his video monitor, labelled in percentages Left / Center / Right. (per the Pro Tools panner.)
I like this!

Wondering how would one sort out the ratios? Measure for Center and work outwards? How far OS is a 100% pan?
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-06-2013, 12:54 PM
danijel danijel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Serbia
Posts: 160
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiahmoore View Post
Specifically, iZotope Insight, in transparent mode.
Wow, this is so cool, I never noticed you can adjust the opacity. Thanks for the tip!
__________________
Danijel Milosevic
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-07-2013, 08:15 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggot View Post
thanks jeremiah
yes, indeed I'm displaying pan position on top of the picture.
also allows for drawing pan directly onto the movie window.
there's a video demonstrating it here

certainly seems like most people are happy to have the overlay sit above plugins.
that's my preference as well so I'm gonna change it for the next point release.
justin

I rarely put plugins on the picture monitor, and I would think that option 2 makes the most sense, especially when operating plugins from a control surface - kind of makes it a none issue for the most part.

By the way, what's the film in your demo video? It looks like it could be "The further/prior adventures of Derek" (I live in hope).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-07-2013, 08:47 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak;2037878By the way, what's the film in your demo video? It looks like it could be "The further/[URL="http://www.liketelevision.com/liketelevision/tuner.php?channel=1205&format=movie&theme=guide"
prior adventures of Derek[/URL]" (I live in hope).
Hah!
no, it's a short of mine. Derek turned that one down.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-08-2013, 07:56 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggot View Post
Hah!
no, it's a short of mine. Derek turned that one down.

Ah, that's too bad!

Hopefully that's due to his commitments on The Dam Busters, and The Christ Must Die (hint, hint )

Anyway, good luck with the short, and the new release of Spanner.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-08-2013, 10:56 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
I would love to but first AVID needs to agree it's a good idea.
by all means add your voices to the chorus but we should also let them get PT11 nice and solid before we start injecting too many new ideas.
who do we need to lean on?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-2013, 04:36 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
who do we need to lean on?
anyone with a badge.
just pass it up the food chain and hopefully the message will get thru.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to monitor thru plugins on LE? digidesigner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-06-2010 12:05 PM
Getting Edit/Plugins Views on 2nd monitor? 100grit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-01-2005 10:23 AM
Can't monitor through RTAS plugins when recording 10acErnie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2004 02:07 PM
Audiosuite plugins don't show on second monitor Wayne B Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-06-2003 05:55 AM
Playing to Picture on seperate monitor or TV Ronnisi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-02-2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com