Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 03:10 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Pipe dream to run PT10 on a Dell Optiplex 980 i5?

Is it a pipe dream to think that I'll be able to run some version of ProTools 10 on a Dell Optiplex 980 i5 (650 3.2GHz) with 4GB of RAM on Windows 7?
Specs here:
http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/del...-34280352.html

I'm not mixin' national records on this particular machine - I have other tools for that. Just need to playback about 24 and record 2 at a time. Simple stuff - getting learning tapes together. But I want the convenience of using the PC at my job that I have admin access to.

I still have an old Digidesign USB Micro audio interface too - will that work? I'm usually an all Mac guy. But I need a PC solution and I'm wondering what the most current software version is that I can use on this baby. I LOVE clip gain and am really hoping to be able to put 10 on this baby. Any help you could offer would be great. I know this isn't an 'approved' computer for 10 - I've read all that. I'm just wondering if people ARE using i5s successfully with PT10.

Thanks!
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 04:45 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Pipe dream to run PT10 on a Dell Optiplex 980 i5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
Is it a pipe dream to think that I'll be able to run some version of ProTools 10 on a Dell Optiplex 980 i5 (650 3.2GHz) with 4GB of RAM on Windows 7?
Specs here:
http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/del...-34280352.html

I'm not mixin' national records on this particular machine - I have other tools for that. Just need to playback about 24 and record 2 at a time. Simple stuff - getting learning tapes together. But I want the convenience of using the PC at my job that I have admin access to.

I still have an old Digidesign USB Micro audio interface too - will that work? I'm usually an all Mac guy. But I need a PC solution and I'm wondering what the most current software version is that I can use on this baby. I LOVE clip gain and am really hoping to be able to put 10 on this baby. Any help you could offer would be great. I know this isn't an 'approved' computer for 10 - I've read all that. I'm just wondering if people ARE using i5s successfully with PT10.

Thanks!
I'm using a Micro with my MBP and PT9 HD and its fine. However the Micro has zero inputs. It was a monitoring only solution. The Mini had two inputs. 1 line and one line or XLR. If your only recording VIs than the Micro would be fine. if your trying to record audio you going to need a Mini. Since 9 and 10 support third party hardware you have plenty of choices. Any Windows interface is going to need a ASIO driver to work with Pro Tools natively.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2013, 10:33 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Re: Pipe dream to run PT10 on a Dell Optiplex 980 i5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I'm using a Micro with my MBP and PT9 HD and its fine. However the Micro has zero inputs. It was a monitoring only solution. The Mini had two inputs. 1 line and one line or XLR. If your only recording VIs than the Micro would be fine. if your trying to record audio you going to need a Mini. Since 9 and 10 support third party hardware you have plenty of choices. Any Windows interface is going to need a ASIO driver to work with Pro Tools natively.
Thanks Sunburst!! What about ProTools 10.3 actually working in Native mode on an i5 3.2GHz like A Dell Optiplex? Am I good there even though it's not an Avid certified computer for PT10? In the past I've used several Macs for ProTools that weren't certified by Digi.. And they all worked. Just wondering if Avid's being conservative 'on paper' here again.

Thanks in advance for any info. I was aware of the limitations of the micro. All I need is playback.

Grant
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pipe Dream Quadra system TylerEss Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 04-13-2006 01:02 AM
my super pipe dream. WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-16-2002 06:43 AM
my super pipe dream. WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-16-2002 01:49 AM
Echo Farm HD, is it a pipe dream? DC2light Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 11-15-2002 09:35 AM
Dell Optiplex GX200 scuppari 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-12-2002 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com