Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 08:44 AM
BurstRate BurstRate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2
Default FWx Compat / Usage Questions

I'm trying to have the ability to use some channels from the Venue's FWx, and other channels from an 002 Rack recorded into LE 8.

I don't have access to our Venue yet, and the FWx PDF guide was a little vague as to the details. I'm hoping the forum might be able to give insight on if what I need to achieve is possible, and any pros and cons you may have encountered with using the FWx card.

Many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2012, 05:26 PM
doug sjostrom doug sjostrom is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Carlos, CA, USA
Posts: 322
Default Re: FWx Compat / Usage Questions

Pro Tools can only connect to 1 kind of Interface at a time (HD, 002, VENUE FWx, etc). You can not connect to to a VENUE via FWx and another Pro Tools peripheral at the same time. Why would you need some inputs from the 002. Could you not run all those signals into VENUE? What is the workflow?
__________________
Doug Sjostrom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2012, 02:03 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: FWx Compat / Usage Questions

One option which I have used is to create an aggregate device. and then tell protools that that is my interface. Unfortunately this is only available on PT9+ while using a mac, but it should solve your problem. I would demo PT10 and see if you can do it or not if you are using or have a mac lying around.
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 08:41 AM
BurstRate BurstRate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2
Default Re: FWx Compat / Usage Questions

Hey Doug and Tragic Dog, thanks for the replies!

Without ranting too long about the current state of the affairs, basically it's impossible cost and facilities wise for certain feeds to make it to the Venue; however, they still need to be recorded.

I was hoping for a situation along the lines of what you see with HD interfaces (PT showing multiple interfaces in the I/O setup), but from your feedback it appears this isn't possible in PT 8 LE, and needs 9+ for coreaudio aggregate devices.

I guess the only other question I have is: Does wordclock also need to be run simultaneously with the firewire from the Venue as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2012, 12:05 PM
doug sjostrom doug sjostrom is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Carlos, CA, USA
Posts: 322
Default Re: FWx Compat / Usage Questions

Hmmm. Even w/ 9 this will not work. Pro Tools only sees one type of interface at a time. You can't mix and match the VENUE interface w/ a core audio device. If you can't get the channels to VENUE, you will need another Pro Tools system or other recorder.
__________________
Doug Sjostrom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New User - Post production TV usage Questions? devineandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-19-2010 12:52 AM
Buss and Master fader usage questions Sound-Influence Tips & Tricks 4 05-19-2006 10:12 AM
two PT 6.1 general usage questions jes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-04-2004 03:28 PM
OS 9.1 compat Olav Celius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-27-2001 08:27 AM
Digi not answering emailed questions on Platinum G3's and Cubase usage with digi001 long2play 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2000 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com