Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2018, 11:09 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro tools?

Hi there,
Just wondering : we can playback the video in pro tools session and put the window on another screen, what’s the reason we should spend more money on black magic or Aja devices to have pro tools output video thru that?

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2018, 11:31 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,987
Default Re: Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro too

You can do a direct video out (this one may not be important to most people) (ie, hardware video online that outputs only the picture that can be fed to screens and projectors)

You can genlock the picture (if the playback video card supports it) so that the picture is in frame sync. This one is important to post-production and dialogue editors to keep absolute sync. The video offsets in Pro Tools are nowhere near as consistently accurate as actually have a playback video card and Pro Tools both on genlock/black burst sync (need Sync HD also for Pro Tools to do this)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2018, 11:34 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,770
Default Re: Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro too

Great question. For years, video playback ate too many system resources and so offloading the movie to an external codec, like a Blackmagic or Canopus or one of the other FW/TB/USB boxes, helped ProTools operate more freely. I used a Canopus for years, then switched to a Blackmagic, but for the past year I've been sending video to a 2nd monitor which is connected to my trashcan Mac's HDMI port and it works swimmingly. AND there's the option of throwing plugin windows over to that monitor if the main desktop gets crowded. There has been no real downside to this.

Another advantage is that I no longer need to convert videos to DV, since that's what the external boxes preferred to work with. When a video comes in, I simply import into ProTools, drag to the other window, hit Full Screen and that's it.

So, unless you have a slower machine and need to get video processing off your main system, or if you don't have the physical outputs for a dedicated TV, you can safely forgo the Blackmagic. We've done this in four or five different rooms which once used Blackmagic or Canopus boxes and there's no going back in any of them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2018, 04:20 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 633
Default Re: Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro too

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
You can do a direct video out (this one may not be important to most people) (ie, hardware video online that outputs only the picture that can be fed to screens and projectors)

You can genlock the picture (if the playback video card supports it) so that the picture is in frame sync. This one is important to post-production and dialogue editors to keep absolute sync. The video offsets in Pro Tools are nowhere near as consistently accurate as actually have a playback video card and Pro Tools both on genlock/black burst sync (need Sync HD also for Pro Tools to do this)

Not to mention the benefits if has for stuff like ADR, working/viewing with clients, or even creativity. The last is probably quite subjective, but I do like having a playback monitor that is more associated with my audio monitoring than my Pro Tools workspaces. The former is larger and mounted in a fixed location - more or less treated as 'the end game', while I have a pair of monitors on arms that I can drag forward, etc for the Pro Tools edit and mix window.

I do still playback video from within a window in Pro Tools for editing, etc... but I do often get amazed by how much sync, or the tone and feel of work changes when moving to a bigger, dedicated screen.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs) winkelement Pro Tools 12 13 03-17-2016 11:03 AM
PT 11 video and MXF files using Black Magic cards paulo m Post - Surround - Video 5 08-19-2013 05:50 AM
Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link actualsizeaudio Post - Surround - Video 23 07-12-2013 06:26 PM
Black Magic Intensity & HD Video Codecs mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 7 01-26-2010 01:52 PM
Black magic video sync s0und80y Post - Surround - Video 2 05-09-2007 03:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com