Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2017, 06:20 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default DNxIV

So, this DNxIV cought my attention:
http://www.avidblogs.com/introducing...nxiv-ibc-2017/

"capture, monitor, and output SD, HD, 2K, UHD, and 4K content"

Wondering if it will off-load the CPU by hardware decoding DNxHR?
Will this cooperation AJA/Avid finally make the AVE 100% rock solid?
Will it work with NLA Video Slave? :P

This gets me excited and interested in adopting the Thunderbolt architecture.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2017, 12:01 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
So, this DNxIV cought my attention:
http://www.avidblogs.com/introducing...nxiv-ibc-2017/

"capture, monitor, and output SD, HD, 2K, UHD, and 4K content"

Wondering if it will off-load the CPU by hardware decoding DNxHR?
Will this cooperation AJA/Avid finally make the AVE 100% rock solid?
Will it work with NLA Video Slave? :P

This gets me excited and interested in adopting the Thunderbolt architecture.
There's no mention of hardware encoding or decoding, it seems the larger BM-based DNxIQ has DNxHR encoding built-in.

As for Video Slave, AJA interfaces will work, but I remember reading they're only supported up to HD resolutions. It's basically a re-badged one of these https://www.aja.com/products/io-4k-plus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2017, 01:40 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
As for Video Slave, AJA interfaces will work, but I remember reading they're only supported up to HD resolutions. It's basically a re-badged one of these https://www.aja.com/products/io-4k-plus
I knew that looked familiar! Thanks for the link. If it is PT compatible (and most AJA interfaces are), that looks like a nice audio+video interface for a small edit/mix room.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2017, 02:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,203
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
There's no mention of hardware encoding or decoding, it seems the larger BM-based DNxIQ has DNxHR encoding built-in

The very page that was provided has a super-clear comparison table that says "Host CPU encode"and not "Hardware Encode".




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2017, 02:55 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The very page that was provided has a super-clear comparison table that says "Host CPU encode"and not "Hardware Encode".


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I know, I was saying only the larger DNxIQ has hardware encoding.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2017, 02:58 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
I knew that looked familiar! Thanks for the link. If it is PT compatible (and most AJA interfaces are), that looks like a nice audio+video interface for a small edit/mix room.
Yeah I initially thought the TB3 was unique to the Avid version, then saw the updated AJA box!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2017, 03:23 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,846
Default Re: DNxIV

Fyi I have a 4kio. It's a pretty loud box. It should be in a machine room.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2017, 03:30 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: DNxIV

I have the IOXT - runs very well on TB1 - not loud (although quite warm)
No 4K here thank you

works great with VSlave3 or the AVE
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:57 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default Re: DNxIV

Well, if it hardware accelerates the video decoding, off-loading the CPU completely, I'd like to try UHD-like video when available - as long as it won't spin up any audible fans to do it. Also, my plan is to start using a separate machine or Video Slave player very soon so it shouldn't bog down my PT host.

Congrats on your two thousands post.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2017, 03:42 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: DNxIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
Well, if it hardware accelerates the video decoding, off-loading the CPU completely
It doesn't
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com