Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2011, 07:01 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default iTunes through HDx

Is it possible to route the audio playback from iTunes to the VENUE through the HDx assignables?
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 03:20 AM
Chris Johnson Chris Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

I don't see why not, provided you have ASIO or CoreAudio drivers for the HDx interface (which i'm guessing would be the same as the drivers for 192 IO). But remember, once you open PT, it takes over control of the PT hardware meaning you can no longer use it in any other mode.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 07:31 AM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

So, the CoreAudio drivers are not installed with the installation of ProTools? I'm guessing those can be taken from AVID's site?
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:29 AM
Chris Johnson Chris Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

Excellent question - they are in the case of PTLE - i've never checked with Protools HD, but logic would follow that they are.
Simple way to check is to quit protools, go to System Preferences > Sound, and see if your HDx appears as an output?

However, i'm not sure how clever the drivers are - to be honest, they may just output on channels 1 & 2 unless you are using some other software which can address the channels individually.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2011, 10:36 AM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

Hi Ken,

So I just tried this on a HD system with 192 i/o. I played a CD from iTunes on the HD computer through the 192 i/o. Under system preferences/sound/output, Digidesign HW is listed. After selecting Digidesign as the output, when I load iTunes a Digi Core Audio Manager application loads as well. It then outputs the CD audio to my monitors that are patched to the 192 i/o. However I can't load Protools while the Digi Core Audio application is running. So you can use it to playback back from iTunes only while Protools is not running. They don't like to share the interface.

Nicolas
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2011, 11:11 AM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

Awesome! Thank you very much for looking into this!
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:00 AM
Chris Johnson Chris Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: iTunes through HDx

The question is - did you get to select which outputs of the HD interface the iTunes returned via? because obviously its gotta end up in the HDx assignables (49-64) to be of any real use...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP3 vs. iTunes MP3? SDDP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-24-2010 06:57 AM
ITunes question: Can ITunes convert wav. to mp3? GMP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-22-2010 02:32 PM
PT 8 and iTunes 8.x ladyback Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-15-2009 07:24 PM
Problemas Itunes! / Problems Itunes-Mbox MEPHISTOX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-29-2008 05:37 AM
OT.....iTunes Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-31-2003 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com