Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2002, 11:59 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

The general consensus around here has been that allocating much more than 100megs or so to PT/DAE won't really help increase plugin performance, but more and more I'm seeing people with ton's of RAM saying they do see a difference.

Have any of you with lot's of RAM done any actuall performance comparisons between say 100MB versus XXXMB?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2002, 10:25 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

[img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2002, 11:06 AM
DaWhole9 DaWhole9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 163
Default Re: Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

IF PT is anything like DP then allocating RAM and your system using RAM are 2 different things. If you allocate too much RAM for PT then the playback engine and plugs may be starved for RAM. SO if you have 1 gig of RAM, you have a lot more overhead for your system to use. If PT needs more than the allocated RAM it can get it. Same with the Plug Ins and playback engine. I would say that 512 should be the minimum you have for digital audio. The system alone uses close to 100 mb then PT using 100 mb and then your DAE using 100 mb and that already 300 mb's....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2002, 01:33 AM
naireko naireko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 252
Default Re: Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

I must say I noticed a considerable speed/responsitivdess in my system and all apps, especially from Pro Tools just by going from 256 to 512. I wont even comment on my iMac going from 128 to 768. They were 2 different machines even in the finder.

That's interesting to know that Pro Tools has access to resources if it needs, so I guess that explains the suggestion to allocate x amounts of RAM in DAE qand PT's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2002, 08:43 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

We fould the optimum settings for PT and DAE memory on our Dual 800 was 250 to PT and 200 to DAE. We notices inceased track count in the Davec test and overall better performance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2002, 02:18 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Does lot\'s of RAM really increase performance?

Thanks - I'm gonna get me some more. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance hit in 8.0...or increase? Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 46 01-02-2009 04:07 PM
Pro Tools Performance Increase Slashly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-29-2007 09:20 PM
Increase performance by splitting up session? hjorte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-30-2005 11:01 AM
Performance Increase, What should I expect? musicjon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-16-2003 09:17 PM
NEED ADVICE- How to Increase Performance imakesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 06-11-2003 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com