Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:55 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 536
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Yep, the 64 ch Dante card is about $500, but well worth every penny. You can use those adapters to get any analog signal into it (or out, they make opposite adapters too). Plus any computer you have can run Dante Virtual Sound card and run audio to your MTRX too.

Here’s a different question. What is between your MTRX and your speakers? For example, I have a QSC QSYS in between mine. So I ran my Apple TV into a home stereo and into the Q-Sys. And bypass the MTRX. Just tossing more ideas out.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2019, 11:03 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 279
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

All my old Pro Tools systems from years ago when I had outboard Lexicon boxes, etc., were all word clock synced. Never had any problems. But stuff without word clock needs both AES in and out connected. Then it works fine. The Apple has no IN. Apple TV is consumer-grade stuff unfortunately.

My computer is a trash can Mac Pro, no Optical in...

The RME box looks good...thx.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2019, 11:14 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 279
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Here’s a different question. What is between your MTRX and your speakers? For example, I have a QSC QSYS in between mine. So I ran my Apple TV into a home stereo and into the Q-Sys. And bypass the MTRX. Just tossing more ideas out.
Nothing, MTRX goes right to powered monitors.

QSYS looks great BTW! Thanks for the alternate ideas...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-14-2019, 01:55 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 651
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

I've been pondering something similar too, with either an Apple TV, fetch, or smart TV with optical out. How are you handling the audio once it hits Pro Tools? I assume a dolby surround decoder or something along those lines is needed to create a discrete 5.1 output?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-14-2019, 05:59 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 300
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
I want to extract digital audio from an Apple TV 4th Gen with a HDMI + HDMI Audio extractor box. This extracts an Optical output from the HDMI signal. This then goes to a HOSA Optical to AES/EBU converter box. And from here it goes to the Avid MTRX AES-in.

This doesn't work because the extractor doesn't have a Optical IN for clocking. The result is the audio plays but drops out every few seconds.

No HDMI audio extractor I've found have an Optical IN, only OUTPUT.

Is there a better way to do this? I need all my MTRX analog inputs otherwise I just use them.
If your HDMI extractor also has SPDIF output, try the bellow AES/EBU impedance converter from Neutrik, connect then straight to the MTRX AES in and ditch the Hosa. MTRX needs to be at the same sample rate as the audio coming from the Apple TV out:

https://www.neutrik.com/en/product/naditbnc-m
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-14-2019, 09:34 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 279
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

[QUOTE=paulo m;2541209]If your HDMI extractor also has SPDIF output, try the bellow AES/EBU impedance converter from Neutrik, connect then straight to the MTRX AES in and ditch the Hosa. MTRX needs to be at the same sample rate as the audio coming from the Apple TV out:

Thanks. Isn't that just for long cable runs? Not sure how that would help...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-14-2019, 09:35 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 279
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I've been pondering something similar too, with either an Apple TV, fetch, or smart TV with optical out. How are you handling the audio once it hits Pro Tools? I assume a dolby surround decoder or something along those lines is needed to create a discrete 5.1 output?
Right now I only need a stereo connection...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-14-2019, 09:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Catalina has Apple TV on the Mac... so you *might* be able to get at the audio there using Soundflower or similar.... record it into Garage Band, copy to another Mac to use Pro Tools. Or set up a dual boot on your Trashcan? :-(
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-14-2019, 06:09 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 300
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post

Thanks. Isn't that just for long cable runs? Not sure how that would help...
No, it´s an impedance transformer from 75 ohm unbalanced (SPDIF coax) to 110 ohm AES/EBU. Nothing to do with cable lenght in this case. I´ve run non clockable gear like CD players, computer sound cards etc. like this and never had the problems you described. Maybe in your case, is the optical to electrical conversion that is causing the problem. It´s just a guess, not sure, but a cheap way of trying. The Dante analogue and AES breakouts work fine, but you´d need a Dante card for the MTRX and also an HDMI extractor with analogue outs, plus a balancing unit, as the HDMI extractors that I know, most have only unbalanced outs. It´s a much more expensive proposition I guess.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-14-2019, 07:18 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 279
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Catalina has Apple TV on the Mac... so you *might* be able to get at the audio there using Soundflower or similar.... record it into Garage Band, copy to another Mac to use Pro Tools. Or set up a dual boot on your Trashcan? :-(
I'm just looking to hear the Apple TV, not wanting to record its output...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD I/O with MTRX Artis Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 07-04-2019 11:01 AM
MTRX and S6 quadraphonics Pro Tools | S6 18 08-21-2018 07:12 PM
MTRX Box JSR Pro Tools | S6 4 11-01-2017 01:46 PM
MTRX antonis Post - Surround - Video 2 10-26-2016 01:31 AM
Anyone been able to get 2 Apple digital monitors working? EthanMorse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-06-2001 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com