Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2013, 12:30 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default PT11 - HDN vs Metric Halo ULN8

I am an old TDM guy. 18 months ago I switched to PT10HD + ULN8 with an old presonus Digimax for an extra 8 inputs when needed via AES/EBU.

The ULN8 is great and a step up in A/D D/A from my old 192 but I miss the simplicity of running a TDM rig vs running a second software layer for all my input monitoring.

SO! Here comes PT11 and it looks like they have a way to get to better than TDM performance (with the new independent input buffer) using Thunderbolt and I assume only an AVID I/O. So there is the OMNI -- but 4 analog ins won't cut it for me. To get the 4 digitals ins to be on par with the first 4 looks like more than $2K - maybe a lot more. And my ULN8 won't work because the only way to get 4 digitals into the OMNI is ADAT - (AES and SPDIF are 2 only and can't be simultaneous). So then it looks like the only way is the 8X8X8 but now I need a high quality monitor and headphone solution. Could keep the ULN8 but I was hoping selling it would pay for most of this!

I guess the question is.... how are others solving this
8X8 I/O HDN system -
a) OMNI + extra A/D converters + 6 Preamps
b) 8X8X8 + HP/Monitor control system + 8 preamps
c) Forget it and just use the ULN8 and get by with non-HD PT11
d) After writing this I see that getting an 8X8X8 and using the ULN8 as preamp/converters and maybe monitoring/HP (via digital I/O of the 8X8X8) too may be an option I should consider. More $$ than I was thinking but when all totaled, maybe not so bad...

I do have 6 very good outboard preamp channels already - I don't count the Digimax as anything I want mission critical going through
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2013, 09:23 PM
marty lester marty lester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: austin, tx usa
Posts: 138
Default Re: PT11 - HDN vs Metric Halo ULN8

i have the same situation as you, and quite honestly, i came to the same solution you did...8x8x8 and ULN-8. not that i can afford the 8x8x8 anytime soon unfortunately...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S like new Metric Halo ULN8 jsmooth226 Buy & Sell 0 10-12-2012 07:36 AM
Metric Halo + DSP and 003 sureno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-07-2008 05:03 AM
DSP of Metric Halo ULN-2 mcician 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-08-2004 12:56 AM
Anyone at NAMM see Metric Halo and CS for OS X? chrispnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-17-2004 10:30 AM
Metric Halo ULN2 tele_player 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-19-2003 06:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com