Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2006, 12:36 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default can i use my v-drums with strike?

how compatible is strike with roland v-drums ?

i have a td-12s v-drums set and wondered will i be able to play strike with it.

i has some vriable controllers like the v-11 hi hat and some 3 zone triggering.

can strike handle the midi input from a v-drum set and if not can you make a template for it in the future ?
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:55 AM
Wolfram K's Avatar
Wolfram K Wolfram K is offline
AIR Music Technology
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AIR Group, Germany
Posts: 111
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

Hi music-project,

yes you can use your V-drums. You can trigger single Strike Instruments via MIDI input on MIDI channel 2.

Best,

Wolfram K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:41 PM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

on my v-drums the transition from closed hi-hat to open hi-hat is smooth and goes thrugh 4 or 5 diffarent "samples" with the control all done with the hi-hat pedal vh-11.

how will strike hi-hat react to a continues trigger like the vh-11.

will the samples switch smoothly from closed to open ?

have you guys tested strike with v-drums and vh-11/12 ?

what should i expect ?

it is very important to me to know before i buy strike.

thank you
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2006, 07:27 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 349
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

Wolfram,

It would be appreciated if you could elaborate on the setup for a V kit.

Ross
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2006, 09:42 PM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

please,

give us some more information about how to integrate v-drums with strike and in detail how to overcome the vh-11/12 continues controller of hi-hat samples in strike.

is there a template midi map vor v-drums in strike?
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2006, 04:22 AM
Wolfram K's Avatar
Wolfram K Wolfram K is offline
AIR Music Technology
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AIR Group, Germany
Posts: 111
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

Hi everybody,

I'd like to straighten out some things about Strike and the use of MIDI controllers like V-Drums:

1) In the first line Strike is not a drum sampler, drum module, or drum synth. Strike is an "intelligent" virtual instrument, that has been designed to play along to any Pro Tools session like a real drummer. The main intention of Strike is to deliver realistic drumming behavior and - even more important - the "tweakability" of all parameters which influence the authenticity of a drum performance. Strike is about triggering, editing, and customizing Patterns (Intros,Verses,Bridges,Fills,Choruses,Endings) - mainly.

2) As an add on we implemented the possibility to play single Strike Instruments - quite similar to what you do with a drum sampler. This is intended to easily add Instrument hits in the every day workflow - you trigger the desired Patterns and "throw in" ,for example, additional Crash cymbal hits.
Some people even use this feature to play whole drum tracks with Strike in Kit mode (usually using a MIDI keyboard - search the plug-in guide for "Kit mode")- and it works quite well. This is what you could do using MIDI and V-Drums, but Strike is not intended or optimized for this kind of use.

3) Strike does not support special MIDI drum controllers - sadly there are no templates or presets for these types of modules (apart from M-Audio keyboard support using the M-Audio "Enigma" software). I beg your pardon, and hope you understand that we can not elaborate solutions for individual setups in this forum.

4) Maybe some experienced Strike, MIDI, V-Drums user could find out the best setup and post his experiences here?

Best Regards,

Wolfram K
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:31 PM
Sonny in London Sonny in London is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 557
Default Re: can i use my v-drums with strike?

Hey Wolfy, I think your're missing a trick with this one.

In my store (Sound Control in Oxford St London) we sell many, many electronic kits and a big selling point, especially for the lower-end kits, is that you can plug into a DAW via MIDI and control some drum software to improve the sounds.

Traditionally, BFD was the major app for this, but Strike has made a serious impression on everyone and my colleagues and customers are all really impressed with it's functions and sounds. It would be a real boon to be able to say that you could simply plug in a kit to your PT rig and play away.

I don't think that Digi should paint themselves into a corner saying what Strike 'is and isn't'. It's a fantastic drum VI that seems to incorporate the best of what programs like BFD and GrooveAgent have to offer - why limit it's abilities or concentrate on only one area of it's application when you could simply sell the best acoustic drum plugin on the market?


Sonny
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike for E-Drums? jglover51 The Drum Room 1 08-31-2011 10:17 PM
Anyone using Strike with V-drums Wayne Dawkins Virtual Instruments 2 08-22-2010 09:48 PM
EZ Drums Vs DrumCore Vs Strike Dennis Scott Virtual Instruments 4 05-22-2007 12:41 AM
Strike Virtual Drums Brianmcnamara Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2007 05:13 PM
How To Set Up Strike With V-Drums ChaplainPC Virtual Instruments 1 10-18-2006 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com