Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2005, 10:51 PM
articulatedrama articulatedrama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?)

I'm in a pickle here fellas! Im basiclly revamping my entire studio! I will be gettin an Audio-Technica AT4033/CL Large Diaphragm Condenser Mic, a pair of powered monitors, and the Digi Design mx002 pro tools controler. Where im stuck at is here.....Do i use the remaining 2 grand i have in my budget and get an Avalon 737sp (industry standard so they say) and build around that, later gettin a MAC. Or, do i get an IMAC for 1,400 and use the remaing 500 towards a better mic or pro tool plug ins? I'm operating on a Dell laptop wit Centrino Pentium 512 mb, external
hard drive spinnin at 7200 rpm.

What would you do?

and if you fellas have any recomondations on any mics or monitors or even a whole nother set up for 5 grand, im alllllll ears. Im doing Hip-Hop and i basiclly wanna get great quality out of my mixes with the bottom end and vocal tone. I make beats with an alesis asr 10 and reason 3.0

thanx yall, God bless.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:40 AM
RadioMoo RadioMoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 628
Default Re: I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?)

I'd personally ditch the 4033: you won't get what I think of as "The Hip Hop Vocal Sound." I have one, and it's OK for what I do (voiceover work), but when I have the two grand, I'm getting a Lawson L47. This would compliment your 002's pre amps very well.

But, the 737 sounds great, and has compression and EQ, and it seems to be pretty standard in Hip Hop and RnB these days.

But, I tend to favor Macs for their stability and just plain ease of use...but you've got a fairly recent, fast PC which should let you run Pro Tools OK.

Just some ideas to toss around; these are always tough questions to answer for someone else.

HTH
__________________
Mbox 1 w/BLA mod, PTLE 6.1, eMac 700MHz, OS X (10.2.8), 1024 MB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2005, 06:04 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?)

Personally if I were you I wouldn't get anything until I did more homework, that includes the 4033, the 002 or monitors.
You will quickly discovery how little money $5g's really is and that it's even less when you spend it wrong.
Get a better idea of what you need to do, want to do and then start looking at what gear does that.
I would never start out by using a 737 w/4033 combo just too much of an off balance setup when your goal is vocal tracking.
I was once forced to track 5 hip hop songs (mail-baritone voice heavy in the middle) with the 4033, C1 and 4040 being the only mics available had a couple of different pres to try (TLAudio, 002r, Focusrite) and was glad when they decided to retract the vocals.
I don't know if you will be trying to track just your vocals or the vocals of others but if it's for you checkout mics using your voice to see what sounds good, if it's for others then get multiple mics or at least the most versitle you can afford.
Lots of available choices for gear and most are bad, don't fall victim to thinking that just because someone uses something that it will work well in your situation and environment.
The better you understand your needs the better off you'll be.
737 new is $1950 + 4033 new $399 + $2349, that same money could get you the combo of ME-1NV, RNC and U195 which would give you vocals that would be bananas compared to the 737 and AT mic.
Shop wisely and end up with something useful.
Giid luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2005, 06:22 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?)

HI,

so first: if you are satisfied with the performance of your Laptop DON`T CHANGE IT.
getting a Mac just for a change of it isnīt worth it!

second: get the best Monitors you can afford, you canīt edit what you canīt hear!!!

investigate and learn as much as you can since getting high pro stuff is expensive.
and the wrong choice can be fatal. Be 100% sure about what you need.

so the following are just some thoughts to make things even more complicated:

personally I wonīt buy a tube mic. A condesor mic an great Tupe Pre I see as much
more versatile since condesor mics are way cheaper than tube mics so you can easier have
a selection of condensers than of tubes.

as a replacement for the Avalon I REALLY suggest trying the RNC and RNP
(really nice compressor / pre) they are a steal compared to how they sound!!!

Also the Focusrite Octopre is a very decent MicPre.

Idīalso look into an Universal Audio Channelstrip (LA610), they are even a bit cheaper than
the Avalon.

also the SPL Gainstation are very worth considering mono Micpre.


And definately get some decent plug-ins, as the digi ones wonīt get you anywhere.
like the McDSP Filter- and Compressor bank lite or the Sony Bundle (EQ+comp+inflator)
or the Elemental Audio stuff.

Also If you donīt neet the standalone mixer capabilities of the 002,
Iīd get a 002r plus the Command 8 controller since you can use the controller
with different software (like reason) also, which you canīt do with the 002.


just my HO

so far

regs

PS: I once wrote in a thread that an RNC wonīt replace an Avalon.
I got the response from someone, saying thatīs he likes and uses his RNC
more than his Avalon. Just another anecdote
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:59 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?)

the guys above are right....
think before you buy! ;-)
I wouldnīt get the 4033, I at least would get a 4040 or 4050 if you want an AT....
do you really NEED the Avalon? I mean, we all need this stuff, bur do you REALLY NEED it? and is it right for what you do?

if your laptop is OK and works for you, donīt cange it. if you cannot do anything with it you want to do, go and change it. get a powerbook or a G5 powermac. and check out the SONY plug ins, they rock.

Cheers!
Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
avalon 737sp x9blade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-31-2005 07:50 AM
AVALON VT-737SP Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-27-2004 11:45 AM
Focusrite 420 or Avalon 737sp???? june bug General Discussion 2 10-19-2002 07:00 PM
What Mic goes best with Avalon 737SP Dal Hic Tips & Tricks 15 03-01-2002 01:57 AM
AVALON 737SP RIO B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-10-2000 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com