Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #881  
Old 04-08-2019, 09:02 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
+1
CPU utilization is the #1 issue with Pro Tools right now. That and OS supportability. Adding plug ins on the fly is so unnecessary. If the CPU issue and OS compatibility wasn't a huge issue then sure, this feature would be a minor enhancement. Its like the old Jedi Mind trick: CPU optimization isn't what your looking for, but look you can add plug ins on the fly....Yippee.

Why do I need to double my midi count, if the instances I do use are not using the CPU efficiently? Unless there is a significant upgrade in CPU ulitization, I'll never be able to get to the theoretical limit, not even close. Avid might as well tell us we can add a million midi tracks.

And the added voice counts. Again, who is asking for this? If you need more voice counts than you can get on 3 HDX cards, than maybe your mix needs to go on a diet. I couldn't imagine using more than what 3 cards offers. I don't even get close to maxing out 1 HDX card but I'm just a home recording artist. Of course if you are recording an orchestra you might need 3 HDX cards, but still 3 should be enough with the voices already available. I know back in the TDM days folks added more than 3 cards, is that not possible with HDX? Professionals were recording full orchestras back on the old TDM cards without an issue, why is this now an issue and why is it so important to Avid that we get more voice counts? I understand native users wanting more than the artificially imposed limit, but HDX users have plenty of voices as it is.

Perhaps Avid could just develop a more modern HDX card that has more voices for the small number of users that need it. You can call it HDX Pro or something. Similar to what Sony and Microsoft did with their video game consoles to support 4K. They didn't release brand new consoles, they just upgraded the CPUs and graphics cards to be able to run native 4K and called them Sony Playstation Pro and Xbox One X. They did this minor upgrade as an interim fix while the all new consoles are still under development and years away from being released.
I think they couldn't fix the problem (6 years now) and won't admit it and opened a huge can of worms trying hence the "plugins on the fly" etc, They might of actually possibly fixed the 9XXX or CPU problem with this new "Enhanced" feature... Total jedi mind trick. We will see. Its quite easy to get the 9XXX error for most people. I can't wait to test it!!

I also think HDX is the major hiccup in fixing things because EVERYTHING has to work on those systems as well. Its a handicap at this point. Limiting resources and giving programming engineers headaches. Now more "Voice" packs and them admitting having issues with the voice extensions giving them problems on the HDX dinosaur cards. Voice packs = first phase of transitioning away from HDX which are on their last legs in my opinion.
__________________
10.14.5 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.6

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core
Reply With Quote
  #882  
Old 04-08-2019, 10:36 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 848
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

I'm sure HDX is a limiting factor. How many of the issues are caused by having to integrate HDX, and how many are simply growing pains caused by so much turnover on the development team is hard to tell from the outside, but HDX adds another whole layer of complexity. No doubt.

You could be right about Avid taking steps to transition away from HDX, though I have no way of knowing. But the lack of AAX-DSP support has to be disappointing, and increasing native CPU power has to affect their thinking. With freeze, etc. the number of people who require external DSP is shrinking, and in that arena they are already competing with UAD, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
...

I also think HDX is the major hiccup in fixing things because EVERYTHING has to work on those systems as well. Its a handicap at this point. Limiting resources and giving programming engineers headaches. Now more "Voice" packs and them admitting having issues with the voice extensions giving them problems on the HDX dinosaur cards. Voice packs = first phase of transitioning away from HDX which are on their last legs in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #883  
Old 04-09-2019, 01:16 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 105
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post

You could be right about Avid taking steps to transition away from HDX, though I have no way of knowing.
It would be sad if HDX disappeared. Before they can it, I hope they can look at reducing the price of it. It's probably impractical but if it was half the price maybe twice the number of people would buy it - which would stimulate the market for DSP format plugins. And the HD interfaces are ridiculously expensive for what they are.

There's nothing quite like tracking an ensemble with 28 lines in record while running 5 stereo cues and talkback through the Pro Tools mixer and being able to plug in at will without even thinking about latency - as I will be doing next week, as it happens... I simply couldn't do that with a native system.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #884  
Old 04-09-2019, 01:35 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 868
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Hdx is not going away. Maybe upgraded.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #885  
Old 04-09-2019, 01:49 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,093
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinhill View Post
It's probably impractical but if it was half the price maybe twice the number of people would buy it - which would stimulate the market for DSP format plugins.
If it was that easy, Avid would give away their cards for free to have infinite amount of customers buying AAX-DSP plugs that only cost a dollar a piece...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #886  
Old 04-09-2019, 02:15 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If it was that easy, Avid would give away their cards for free to have infinite amount of customers buying AAX-DSP plugs that only cost a dollar a piece...
I don't know about a dollar apiece...maybe $29 apiece..
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #887  
Old 04-09-2019, 02:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,093
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I don't know about a dollar apiece...maybe $29 apiece..
Is infinite times 29 more than infinite times one?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #888  
Old 04-09-2019, 03:24 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 105
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If it was that easy, Avid would give away their cards for free to have infinite amount of customers buying AAX-DSP plugs that only cost a dollar a piece...
My comment was somewhat facetious - and you've responded in kind. But there's a serious point here. A bare HDX card costs £2,800. This is out of range for a lot of smaller operations, never mind the fact you've got to have a PCI slot to stick it in, which for modern Macs means a chassis.

A 16/16 HD interface costs £4,000...
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #889  
Old 04-09-2019, 03:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,093
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinhill View Post
A 16/16 HD interface costs £4,000...
Yes and 16/16 card for Apogee Symphony MkII costs roughly the same so with chassis that would be much more expensive... good converters cost good money, always have always will
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #890  
Old 04-09-2019, 03:35 AM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 742
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Is infinite times 29 more than infinite times one?
There goes that advanced math rearin' it's ugly head again. In Mississippi we didn't have that growing up.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 04:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 11:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com