Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2011, 02:09 PM
willie66 willie66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 8
Default trouble installing PT9.0.5 on Lion

Question: How do I install PT9.0.5 on a Mac running Lion, if I can't first instal PT 9.0?

I own and have been using PT 9 on an old Mac Book Pro, wich recently died, so I got one of the new PBP running lion.

My Protools 9 install disk won't install in Lion (no surprise, I have read the news release), wich means the 9.0.5 update can't find a valid version of Protools on the system, so it won't install.

To make matters worse, I don't see my Protools product in my Avid account. So I am unable to access a file that might install in Lion.

Yes, my PT 9 is registered, 3 pieces of evidence prove it;
#1 I have an Ilok authorization allowing me to run the software on my old MBP.
#2 I have been running the software.
#3 When attempting to registar the software again I am informed that the registration id and serial number are already registered.

So how can I resolve this registration problem? and will fixing that give me access to a download that will take me to PT9.0.5 on Lion?

Thanks all

Willie
15 year protools user
profesional sound for picture
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2011, 05:51 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,278
Default Re: trouble installing PT9.0.5 on Lion

Go to your Avid account and get the full 905 installer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2011, 07:07 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: trouble installing PT9.0.5 on Lion

Wilie-

I had no problem installing PT9 on OSX Lion. Worked fine, it would not launch the program.

What I did...
Installed PT9 then downloaded the 9.0.5 upgrade from the avid site...installed that and it has worked like a charm ever since.
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2011, 10:59 AM
willie66 willie66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 8
Smile Re: trouble installing PT9.0.5 on Lion

Thank you both,

I finally managed to get 9.0 installed and upgraded to 9.0.5. Not sure why it bailed on the install before, maybe it just needed a clean shutdown before install. I am happy again.

I am still concerned that the Avid site dosen't show I own the product, should I be concerned? with that hamper my ability to get support? or upgrades?

Willie
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:18 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: trouble installing PT9.0.5 on Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by willie66 View Post
I am still concerned that the Avid site dosen't show I own the product, should I be concerned? with that hamper my ability to get support? or upgrades?
Did you register it? How did you buy it?

It should show up in your product downloads.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Lion from MB pro to Mac Pro... arvid.lind Post - Surround - Video 12 12-15-2012 02:22 PM
Trouble installing PT9 on new Macbook Pro (with Mountain Lion) Metallicamasta macOS 2 09-11-2012 05:38 PM
Need help Installing PT9 on Lion mathbishop macOS 2 02-20-2012 12:25 AM
installing PT HD9 from DVD on lion Justinp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-17-2011 05:47 PM
Installing PT HD 9 on Lion 10.7.2 Coolchris77 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-24-2011 07:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com