Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2019, 09:56 AM
mvmarco mvmarco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 5
Default License Surrender gone wrong/ Can't use PT anymore

Hello, I am having an issue with Pro Tools 12.7.0 not detecting my PT 12 license from a 2nd generation iLok. I got a new desktop PC at the studio, and I went ahead and installed PT 12.7.0 on it (which is the latest version I had after my renewal plan expired). Everything went on fine, however PT doesn't detect the license. It shows an activate button and when I press it the "select licenses" button is grayed out.

On my laptop where I have PT 10 and PT 11 installed the iLok works no problem, but when plugged into the new PC it just doesn't see the license. I've tried to plug it in every usb port (2.0, 3.0, 3.1).

iLok license manager sees the iLok once I sign in, everything is clear, it's only PT 12 that doesn't see it. If anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it!

Last edited by mvmarco; 09-22-2019 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2019, 02:33 PM
mvmarco mvmarco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 5
Default License Surrender gone wrong/ Can't use PT anymore!!

Ok, so it appears that I had two licenses on my iLok account. I had to surrender "Pro Tools 10/11/12 (NT)" in order to gain "Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12)"

I clicked the complete button to start the surrender and I got an error saying that the iLok wasn't detected or something similar (can't remember exactly).

In my iLok License Manager, Pro Tools 10/11/12 (NT) is now greyed out and if I hover over the flag it says "License has been surrendered" however the "PT Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12) still says I need to surrender the (NT) license. When I click complete again, I get the following error: " One or more licenses to surrender cannot be found in your account"

This is amazing! I now can't use Pro Tools at all.. I am left with a broken link between the old and new license.. If can someone take a look into my account and tell me what is going on.. and how to fix this mess, I would be grateful. I am in the middle of a session and I need to get this sorted ASAP...

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (55.0 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by mvmarco; 09-22-2019 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2019, 04:11 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

Hopefully one of the higher-ups like Jeffro or Tope can help you soon.
In the meantime, you can:
Download & install the latest version of iLok License Manager from
https://www.ilok.com/#!license-manager
Login to iLok License Manager.

Left-click on your iLok in the left-hand column, to highlight it.
Right-click on the "good" (non-grayed-out) License and choose “Deactivate”
Wait for the spinning beach ball to stop
In the View Menu>Available Licenses, right-click on the License and choose “Activate”, then return it to your iLok
Right-click on your iLok and choose “Synchronize”




If this fails to fix it, you can download and install the Pro Tools | Ultimate Trial, so you can at least keep working, until your issue is fixed:
https://my.avid.com/get/pro-tools-ultimate-trial
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 09-22-2019 at 04:24 PM. Reason: hope this helps - and welcome to the DUC!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2019, 04:21 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

^^^ all good stuff to try. (and try another download and install even if you already have the latest version of ILM). You can also create an activation/licensing support case at http://avid.force.com/Support/RegistrationCaseCreation They are free of charge. Provide as much detail as you can. Make sure you email that you used for your iLok account is the same as Avid has or provide it when you describe the problem. And post the Case ID here when you have it. That all can help a lot get stuff resolved quickly, especially making sure the email addresses/iLok account info is clear (often folks here have different DUC emails from the one their Avid.com or iLok accounts are registered with).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2019, 04:51 PM
mvmarco mvmarco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

Thanks a lot for the suggestions guys! I have opened a ticket, here's the nr : 03789879.

Hopefully Jeffro can come to the rescue since I have tried everything and nothing seems to work. I've tried reinstalling the iLok License Manager on 2 computers, each one the latest version. I can't even deactivate the "good" license because it disappeared from my iLok completely! The license only shows up when I click on my account name top left, but it's nonexistent if I click on the physical iLok tab. If i try to activate or complete the surrender terms on the "good" license (Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12)) I get the error. I tried with synchronize, same thing. I even relinked the iLok account from my Avid master account, still nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2019, 05:00 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

If it's disappeared from your iLok, but viewable up top, go to "Available Licenses" - it should be there.
If so, right-click on it/"Activate"/ then "Synchronize" iLok
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2019, 05:23 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

Up top, to the right of (large print) “iLOK License Manager”, the 2nd Tab is “Available” – click on this.

BTW - the 4th Tab is “Unavailable” – where you should also be able to see your Surrendered License.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2019, 05:28 PM
mvmarco mvmarco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

I've tried it, I'm getting the same error: "One or more licenses to surrender cannot be found in your account. Click OK to end this operation." I am guessing it got messed up, when I first tried to complete the surrender process. I got an error there and now the old license appears to have been surrendered already, but the new one is still looking for it as if it hasn't been surrendered. It's really messed up... I just need for an Avid rep to step in.. something's clearly broken.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2019, 05:33 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not detecting working iLok

Rotten luck!

Perhaps download the Trial License while you wait for Jeffro-type help ...
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2019, 05:38 PM
mvmarco mvmarco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 5
Default Re: License Surrender gone wrong/ Can't use PT anymore

Yeah.. really sucks! Hopefully he will see it! Thanks a lot for the help and sugestions, i'll see how the trial works out..

Last edited by mvmarco; 09-22-2019 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 not detecting mic GTech Pro Tools 12 3 05-24-2017 01:33 PM
Pro Tools 12 not detecting Artist Mix wentzday Artist Series 2 02-16-2017 08:30 PM
Pro Tools not detecting hardware dankap99 Pro Tools 10 4 01-02-2016 03:44 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.1 not Detecting Microphone Inputs fooloof 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-15-2009 01:43 PM
Newbie-Detecting tempos in Pro Tools Free icequinn Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-07-2001 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com