Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2018, 03:16 PM
pinckneyb pinckneyb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Carbondale, IL
Posts: 2
Default "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

I have just installed Pro Tools First on my PC (Windows 10 Home, machine built for VR so plenty beefy to run a DAW), and I get this error message when I try to create an initial project: ""The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account." Obviously I haven't created any projects yet, so this can't be right. I see from searching that many other people have this problem and have apparently had it for some time now. I have tried all the solutions I find in the extensive thread below on the subject--log in, log out; start iLok first; uninstall, reinstall; etc--but nothing changes the situation. Anybody have any other suggestions? It seems to me that somehow I'm not getting fully logged-in, as the log-out choice on the file menu is followed by an empty pair of parentheses [Signout()] rather than what I assume would be my username, and the sign in on the template page simply says "Signing in" with the ellipses blipping endlessly. I have created all necessary accounts, I believe, and have linked every kind of account to my master account. Seems like it should be a simple solve. Appreciate any help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2018, 05:28 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Contact Avid support. They may need to reset your account.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2018, 11:17 AM
pinckneyb pinckneyb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Carbondale, IL
Posts: 2
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Thanks for this advice. Submitted a trouble ticket with the same subject line as this message, per the Avid website's instructions, and was informed that there is no technical support for Pro Tools First, after which the ticket was closed. They advised me to use the forums to look for help. Seems like a vicious circle.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2018, 05:27 AM
phoenixofstorm phoenixofstorm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: 15 Ash Walk
Posts: 4
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

I have exactly the same problem. When I tried to contact support I was told that they do not support First and I better write in the forum. Did anyone found a solution to this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2018, 06:53 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,854
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixofstorm View Post
I have exactly the same problem. When I tried to contact support I was told that they do not support First and I better write in the forum. Did anyone found a solution to this problem?
Hi, Welcome to the Community

Try signing out and sign Back in again and see if that does it.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2018, 07:05 AM
phoenixofstorm phoenixofstorm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: 15 Ash Walk
Posts: 4
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hi, Welcome to the Community

Try signing out and sign Back in again and see if that does it.
Thank you,
I have already tried this to no avail. I even deleted the backup project folder on my hard disk - still nothing. And so far I have not used First even once.
The reason I want to use it is because I have a mixing project on a deadline and I am used to Pro Tools, as in the studio where I work we use Pro Tools exclusively and I know the program well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2018, 02:58 PM
bglendi@gmail.com bglendi@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

This happened to me, and the next day I restarted my computer and it magically corrected itself ( I think ). So far I am less than impressed with any support I've asked for, no responses after creating a case over a week ago on other issues.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:06 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,854
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixofstorm View Post
Thank you,
I have already tried this to no avail. I even deleted the backup project folder on my hard disk - still nothing. And so far I have not used First even once.
The reason I want to use it is because I have a mixing project on a deadline and I am used to Pro Tools, as in the studio where I work we use Pro Tools exclusively and I know the program well.
You do know there are limitations in PTF like no third party plugins and limits to track counts etc so make sure those mixing projects will be able to open in Pro Tools First so you don’t waste time on something thats a non starter.

I will escalate this to Avid support for you so they can look into your account.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2018, 06:29 AM
phoenixofstorm phoenixofstorm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: 15 Ash Walk
Posts: 4
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
You do know there are limitations in PTF like no third party plugins and limits to track counts etc so make sure those mixing projects will be able to open in Pro Tools First so you don’t waste time on something thats a non starter.

I will escalate this to Avid support for you so they can look into your account.
Thank you. I hope it works.
As for the limitations - I am aware of the track count limitation. As for the third party plugins - this my pose a problem. I was hoping to use a free convolution reverb and several other plugins. I do need a very advanced mixing setup and was hoping First will be able to provide that. Because all the other DAWs I have (mostly ones that came with my hardware) are not nearly as good as Pro Tools. Even a limited version of PT will be better, but not being able to use 3rd party plugins kind of defeats the purpose.
I might just upgrade for a month if I don't find another solution.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2018, 07:55 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,854
Default Re: "The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account"

Yeah the plugins you can use are the ones you buy thru Avid Marketplace inside PT First so no plugins you already have will work and there are nothing that will work to get them working.

Also PT First is a free ”test” DAW so of you are going to run ”very advanced mixing” you will need the right tools for the job. You wouldn’t show up at a constriction site with your childrens toy toolbox

So if you wanna try the real PT version you can do a monthly subscription and evaluate for a month or two or buy a secondhand license for around $200 and then upgrade to yearly plan when you can for $299

Best of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account". kpvalentine Pro Tools | First Discussion 2 08-17-2017 06:00 PM
Maximum number of projects has been reached for this account Jazzmaster Pro Tools 12 3 05-24-2017 09:31 PM
The maximum number of projects has been reached for this account scottsl Pro Tools 12 1 11-11-2016 05:32 PM
Error message: "Playback has reached end of session" Wolfgang Eller Pro Tools 12 3 10-04-2015 02:13 AM
Unable to link Avid Master Account with iLok account "Failed to access the User ID" jburik1176 Licensing & Accounts 31 09-21-2015 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com