Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2015, 06:32 PM
KGraham045 KGraham045 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 33
Default Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

I am trying to set up a PT10 HD thunderbolt native system with a Sync IO. But when I go to select Sync in periphrials it says a connection cannot be established. I have connected the 8 pin mini din cable from the Thunderbolt interface to the sync IO. I also made sure that there is a file in the ProTools utilities Sync folder. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2015, 06:59 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

First, you need to be sure, or hope, that the serial cable is - i forget the actual term for it now - but bi-directional.... some only transmit one direction as I understand it

Next, I'd try to go into Digitest and see if there is a firmware update or something for it... make sure everything passes.
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:09 PM
KGraham045 KGraham045 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 33
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

The cable seems to be bi directional. As it has arrows going both ways on each sides.

I will check out digitest. I've never done digitest.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:15 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

Right on. Cable should be cool then.

For sure run digitest. Have to do this after a restart if you have had PT open.

If I recall correctly, there is facility to update firmwares... I know there is for I/O's, but don't recall about Sync... been a long time since I had mine hooked up.... it just occupy's rack space now that I'm on 11 lol

Is protools otherwise cool? Your HDN setup is otherwise working?
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:25 PM
KGraham045 KGraham045 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 33
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

Yeah, my PT10HD Native Thunderbolt works perfectly. I just got the sync IO and it powers up fine. Just wont seem to connect in the periphrials menu.

What is DigiTest exactly. I did a quick web search and it was for like PT 6. Same with the firmware for the Sync IO
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:26 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

Right on. for sure start with Digitest
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:35 PM
KGraham045 KGraham045 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 33
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

Which version of Digitest would be appropriate for me to run? It all looks like it's from PT6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2015, 07:08 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

The one you have in folder: Pro Tools Utilities
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2015, 07:17 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

A sync io will not work with an hd native card. You need a sync HD.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2015, 08:40 AM
KGraham045 KGraham045 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 33
Default Re: Sync I/O with PT 10HD Thunderbolt Native

Does anyone know if this is true? I am using a Hd omni and a 192 io and they work fine together
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHAT OS for 10HD Native Adupr Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 02-07-2015 09:40 AM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native? petesteen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 11-17-2012 03:21 PM
10HD nAtive + Universal Audio UAD-2 QUAD PCIe card bacchus40 Pro Tools 10 8 05-29-2012 05:41 PM
HD Native and Pro Tools 10HD zion Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 8 11-04-2011 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com