Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2015, 08:23 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 432
Default Will Avid C|24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

I was wondering if anyone here knew if the C-24 controller would control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both protocols?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2015, 08:29 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

as far as I know, No it doesn't do anything but what it does with Pro Tools
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2015, 09:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,408
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post
I was wondering if anyone here knew if the C-24 controller would control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both protocols?
Nope. And just to clarify, the C|24 does not speak Eucon or HUI. It is from a long distant past of pre-Eucon Digidesign control surfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2015, 10:22 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 432
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

Yeah, I was afraid that that would be the case. I was just HOPING that maybe it might have been updated to the Eucon Protocol, thus making it a viable alternative to the Artist Series units.

Thanks a lot for your prompt responses!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2015, 10:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,408
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

The C|24 won't be long for the world. For better or worse Avid is all Eucon, so your choices are Artist series or the S3. All have issues, as does Eucon itself.

Nuendo supports MCU protocol (better than HUI), so you can use any surface that supports MCP, from the Mackie Control Pro itself to the SSL Nucleus and on up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2015, 01:07 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

Avid officially supports products for five years after they are discontinued. C24 is still for sale. Almost all have continued to work long after official support ended.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...pport&filter=0
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2015, 01:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,408
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

And I encourage everybody who thinks Avid is doing a bang up job supporting older products, and is OK with at worst say a few years current version Pro Tools compatibility out of a $5k-$10k surface to go buy a C|24....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:51 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Will Avid C-24 control Nuendo 6 via Eucon, HUI or both?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Avid officially supports products for five years after they are discontinued. C24 is still for sale. Almost all have continued to work long after official support ended.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...pport&filter=0
Bob it's right to a point, however Avid will take advantage of every opportunity they have for every piece of gear if they think they have a potential opportunity to force you to buy new piece of equipment.

Of all the decades I've been doing this, I can't think of another single manufacture that approaches this tactic.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nuendo out HDX/Avid aggregate Mubeau Post - Surround - Video 7 09-08-2013 05:29 AM
Avid, please license eucon to third parties klaukholm General Discussion 13 09-30-2012 10:05 PM
Eucon 2.6.2 and Nuendo 5.5 Steven1145 System 5 11 08-14-2012 02:10 AM
Nuendo 5.1.1 and EuCon PhilippeCNA System 5 5 06-10-2011 12:25 AM
when will there be a 64bit nuendo eucon adapter? pitz System 5 1 02-25-2011 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com