Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2012, 10:57 PM
tengai tengai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 61
Default Poor sound quality with Protools 10

Hello

I have Protools 10 installed on my Windows 7 64 connected via USB to my Eleven Rack.

When I attempt to record a guitar track with protools and play it back the sound quality is terrible. It sounds nothing like the high quality sound that was played with I recorded the track.

I've installed the latest Avid USB driver 1.0.11 and no luck.

I also have EZDrummer and playing the drum samples through the Eleven Rack have a static crackling sound at the end of the drum sample.

Does anyone have any idea why I'm not able to play high quality sounds from my laptop through the eleven rack?

Are there other drivers that need to be updated?

I have a pair of Focal 65 monitors.

Thanks,

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:41 AM
DAR Fritz DAR Fritz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 130
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

You might try putting your project on an external Firewire hard drive if you're not already, or at least make sure you have a lot of extra room on your laptop drive. I had the same problem with my Macbook using Logic and it helped. I believe PT recommends using an external Firewire drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:16 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

Might also check 11r in the control panel and see what it's clocking source is. Should be set to internal.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 10:01 AM
tengai tengai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 61
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

Yes, the clock source is set to "Internal"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2012, 01:17 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,642
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAR Fritz View Post
You might try putting your project on an external Firewire hard drive if you're not already, or at least make sure you have a lot of extra room on your laptop drive. I had the same problem with my Macbook using Logic and it helped. I believe PT recommends using an external Firewire drive.
Avid recommends you record to an additional NON-OS drive. Not necessarily an External or firewire. The best performance comes from another internal HDD. For External HDD, then E-SATA provides the best performance.

For a while Avid was saying Windows 7 users should not use Firewire, but instead opt for USB 2.0 drives.

But the underlying message it true. You should be recording/playing back from a non-OS hard drive. Not a partition of the physical drive the OS is installed on, but a physically separate hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:51 PM
tengai tengai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 61
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

The problem was the USB cable that came with the Eleven Rack.

Used a higher quality cable and the sound is great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2012, 06:04 PM
sorcerer27 sorcerer27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default Re: Poor sound quality with Protools 10

Wow, another bad USB cable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poor Sound Quality when Playback? thelethalkid Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-23-2011 08:19 PM
Poor Quality Bounces 2hip2b4real 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 43 12-04-2009 02:19 PM
SM57 Poor Quality Recording Matt Darcy General Discussion 22 02-07-2009 07:14 PM
poor sound quality = 192 problem? calling DigiTechSupt... Rader Ranch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 03-11-2008 06:15 PM
poor quicktime quality player maquisar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-27-2006 02:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com