Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2003, 11:53 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Digibase

Today was backup day ... retrospect 5 running steady in the background on OSX and decided to go retouch some mixes at first but didn't feel much like it. Ended up taking a closer look at some of the new features in PT 6 and ended up fiddeling around with the digibase all day.

I had allready opened the browser windows on several occasions during sessions to import files but found myself going back to my old PT5 way of doing it ... through the regions list menu or through the file menu. It all seemed too much of a hassle and not worth it at the time. Boy was I wrong. I took the effort picking up the manual and started reading it. By the time I had reached page 12 I had allready understood that this feature would change my way of ProTools life for ever. I have no words for it other then it is freakin fantastic. Once you get the hang of it you are hooked. File management / browsing session audio files / sample banks all makes sence now. EVERY Protools user should spend some time looking into the digibase possibilities.

Digibase is more then just file management. It can be in so many ways a creativity booster. The feature list with tips and tricks is endless. Awesome find file functionallity. Well thought of / simple and very handy keyboard shortcuts so you hardly have to reach for the mouse or trackball. AMAZING speed once your disks are indexed. Custom catalogues keep track of files spread over as many disks you like through aliases. Even offline media can be indexed and browsed through. copy / drag / arrange / re-arrange everything at will. Importing files by dragging them either into the region list or imediately onto the track at the exact spot you want them etc etc ... I could go on and on and on .... listening / previewing audio files with small waveform displays has never been easier ... you hardly have to touch the mouse/trackball to do it.

Whatever kind of music your into or post / radio / TV whatever you have your PT system hooked up for ... digibase is going to change your way of working in it. without a doubt.

Last but definately not least ... the background processing REALY works .... and I do mean WORKS in real life situations. it performs its tasks in complete background and you hardly notice ANY delay or slowing down of your system ... even as you continue working on your mix / edit or whatever your doing ...

I LOVE it.


PT people who are looking for upgrade reasons should look into this in depth .... it might pull you over to the other side.

PS: I was running retrospect / backing up 70 gig of data on 4 seperate HD's during the whole day while experimenting and pushing digibase to its limits. at one point I decided to import like 850 samples and do sample and bit rate conversion with them while continuing to perform tasks in the edit window and mix window .... inserting plugins on 32 tracks at the same time holding the alt button ... creating 50 tracks ... draging files in all directions ... deleting tracks plugins etc etc ... all one could think of .... I was actually trying to crash the application. NOT ONE single error during the whole day. Don't tell me it isn't stable ..... puleez ........
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2003, 01:55 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 917
Default Re: Digibase

Chris, I totally agree.

I haven't gotten too far in Digibase as of yet, but I was thrilled when I popped in a cd, opened up the browser, auditioned the tracks I wanted, then simply drug them into the tracks I wanted.

Many, many possibilities. Simply worth the price of the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2003, 08:13 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Digibase

Yeah, Digibase is amazing...!

Just about anything I've tried, that I thought I might be able to do with it, I was able do. Very, very intuitive.

My favorite two features is drag and drop of OMFI files right into the timeline
and; being able to essentially merge sessions together by dragging & droppping sessions directly into open sessions.

Totally changed the way I work in PT and worth the price of the upgrade even if that was the only new feature 6 had to offer.

Once you get passed the automatic reflex of going to < Command + i >, I now automatically go to < Command + ; > [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]

dk
__________________
www.dpkmusic.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2003, 08:47 AM
Burt Burt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: Digibase

Nice one Chris...

I have dipped into Digibase - and found it superb for importing drum sounds that I regularly use in various different sessions.. now instead of a complicated import procedure I have simply created a folder with all my Drum library samples and I drag and drop them into the session! Dope! Want to try a different kick drum? Just audition from the browser... wow!

Interestingly - I didn't know you could drag and drop tracks from CD into a session... I am still using the "import from other movie" method. I'll give it a whirl using Digibase

Burt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2003, 08:53 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Digibase

Quote:
Originally posted by dkrz:
[QBOnce you get passed the automatic reflex of going to < Command + i >, I now automatically go to < Command + ; > [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]

dk [/QB]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">option + ; / arrows up and down / locate the catalog folder / right arrow to expand folder / command arrow down to open new browser / preset view 1 automatically sets the new window where I prefer it / arrows up and down / command arrow down / browse through the sound files with arrows up and down / space to listen / select files / drag and drop ..... LOOOOOOOOVE it.

I ran another extreme 'real life' PT6.0 stability test today ... 64 tracks / dsp + rtas maxed out / retrospect running in the background for fun and the task manager LOADED with file imports / PT synced to JH-16 2inch machine sending spmte to the sync I/O. I'll start a new thread in a couple of hours when I'm done ... interesting to say the least.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2003, 09:23 AM
stormtrooperpez stormtrooperpez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Default Re: Digibase

I'm also a big fan of Digibase - in theory. The problem for me is that it doesn't work fast enough on my 100Base-T network drives. Are any of you using networked drives? Do you have any optimization hints for OSX?

Opening folders for me is quite sluggish (15-60 seconds), and searching across the five 30+ GB drives is impossible. I can let it sit there spinning the beach ball for 10+ minutes with no results. I don't have this problem with local drives (other than CDs). I've tried all the usual tricks, like repairing permissions, indexing the drives before searching...

Dual 800
1.25 GB RAM
OSX 10.2.4
PT 6.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2003, 09:27 AM
Burt Burt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: Digibase

hmmm... I just tried importing a track from a CD using the Workspace 'drag and drop' method and I got the spinning beach ball of death :-(

I was recording some audio at the same time - maybe that was too much to handle?

No error message - just frozen...

Burt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2003, 09:34 AM
Burt Burt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: Digibase

Had to Force Quit PT's and restart. Tried importing tracks from CD using Workspace Browser 'drag and drop' method without doing anything else in PTs and it worked with no problems...

Burt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2003, 08:19 PM
Raki Raki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle/United States
Posts: 96
Default Re: Digibase

Sounds like Digibase is something similar to what Ableton Live has... If so, then that'd change the way I use PT, too... Does anyone use Live? Is Digibase the same thing? I haven't used PT6 yet.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2003, 08:41 PM
Natural Sound Natural Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 695
Default Re: Digibase

50/50 chance of PT crashing while dragging in audio from CD to an audio track using the WSB (WorkSpaceBrowser)
seems to work better dragging it to the Region Bin first- not too bad.
Also the Import Audio will now work to import audio from CD's- Used to have to use Import Audio From Other Movie -
__________________
Thomas Anthony
Natural Sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digibase and PT 9 abx992000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 06-02-2011 01:00 PM
Digibase pro? tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2007 03:13 AM
DigiBase richard.lambert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-17-2006 11:29 AM
Digibase bug JC925602 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-05-2004 11:41 AM
Digibase StainedClass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2003 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com