Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2009, 03:25 PM
Greg555 Greg555 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 104
Default Cant hear input in play mode

Trying to record a bass track. I can hear the bass input with the track enabled. when I hit play so does the bass input.

I know about input only monitoring and I switched it back and forth to auto input monitoring. No change, no bass input in play mode. Im using low latency monitoring option. I tried pre fader monitoring and post fader monitoring.

Also: someone gave me a trick here somewhere but I cant find it. record enableing a track then muting it so I dont hear the latency. does anyone know the answer to these related dillemma's?

Vista home premium PT 8. Mbox 2 pro. Im going into input 2 on the box in the front. I can see the VU going up in the track when playing. Soon as I hit play,
No bass input.

Why please.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2009, 03:27 PM
Greg555 Greg555 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 104
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Greg again. Sorry about that first line in my post. Dont know how I did that but what I wanted to say is that there is no sound from the bass input when PT is in play mode.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:33 PM
pianosound pianosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turlock, Central CA
Posts: 911
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Greg,,,, Is this a recorded bass track that you can't hear, or you just can't hear playing your bass while in play back mode?? If playing along with PT's,,, you still need the track record enabled,,,, and sent to the correct outputs ect....(whoops etc....)
Sorry if too simple an answer,, looks like you've been using PT's a while,, so maybe a little more info would help!!???? In PT 8, I've found it helpfull to run a track through an Aux track,,, seem to be able to hear the track all the time this way???

Let us know where you're at ,,,,,,,Mike
__________________
Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0GHz | Asus Z97-Pro LGA 1150 Intel 6Gb | Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB DDR3 2400 | Asus GT640 Silent 2 GB GDDR3 | Samsung 850 Pro SSD's, WD Caviar Black HDD's | PSU Corsair 750W ATX12V | Windows 10 | Presonus Studio One | 003R PT's 12.8 | Waves Platinum | Ivory/Piano | Berlin Woodwinds, Nocturne Solo Violin | SPITFIRE Solo Strings | EastWest Hollywood Strings, Brass, Pro Drummer, and Stormdrum 2 | VSL | Vienna Ensemble Pro | M-Audio Code 61, FaderPort 8 |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2009, 01:25 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Is this just an input monitor issue? If so hit alt+K to toggle.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2009, 01:31 AM
BG41 BG41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

You need to uncheck Low Latency Monitering
__________________
The screams of the wicked haunt my thoughts.
Buried in the depths of Hell, I rule with an iron fist. Cross me, and you mark your downfall.

PC: Intel i7 975 Extreme 3.33Ghz- 12GB Ram
Mac: Intel 8 core Mac Pro- 20GB Ram
Pro Tools Interfaces: PT HD3, 003R+, 003, Mbox Pro, Mbox Micro.
3 C-24's
Icon-D
PT 8
Certified Digidesign Engineer and Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2009, 04:15 AM
studiomagic studiomagic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 46
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

I've had that issue every so often and what I need to do is go under hardware/ click on clock source and switch internal to SPIDIF. It should tell you there is no input (unless you have one by chance)/ then switch it back to internal. This will reset something in protolls that might unlock the playback.

I know it sounds crazy, but I have to do it at least once a month.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2009, 06:54 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Is this just an input monitor issue? If so hit alt+K to toggle.
Don't kno where the OP has gone but I think TOM nailed it...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2009, 01:07 AM
BG41 BG41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
Don't kno where the OP has gone but I think TOM nailed it...
Well if you actually read the whole post by the OP you would see he said he already switched between both the 2 options. You will also read that he has Low Latency monitering checked, which will be why he is not hearing his bass while playing back.
__________________
The screams of the wicked haunt my thoughts.
Buried in the depths of Hell, I rule with an iron fist. Cross me, and you mark your downfall.

PC: Intel i7 975 Extreme 3.33Ghz- 12GB Ram
Mac: Intel 8 core Mac Pro- 20GB Ram
Pro Tools Interfaces: PT HD3, 003R+, 003, Mbox Pro, Mbox Micro.
3 C-24's
Icon-D
PT 8
Certified Digidesign Engineer and Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2009, 05:59 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by BG41 View Post
Well if you actually read the whole post by the OP you would see he said he already switched between both the 2 options. You will also read that he has Low Latency monitering checked, which will be why he is not hearing his bass while playing back.
ur rite but only halfway... Low latency will have nothing to do with playback of the actual audio...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:30 PM
Greg555 Greg555 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 104
Default Re: Cant hear input in play mode

BG41 thanks for sticking up for me. This thing did not happen when I did the guitar track, just the bass one. And what I was doing is trying to record a bass guitar track. the track was record enabled. I hear the bass, when I hit record the tracks play back but no sound from the bass. My buddy at guitar center showed me the thing about using an aux send also. thanks to all for all the good info.

Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input mode and virtual sound check mode gagaiop VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 07-15-2010 11:37 PM
PT8 input monitoring whilst in play mode converted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-16-2009 01:38 AM
mono mode vs multi input mode in Audio Suite plugin? thenewnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-30-2009 06:58 PM
Can't Change Automation Mode while in Play Mode menotyou ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 09-16-2004 06:29 AM
can't hear audio with track in play mode slim chrispy Tips & Tricks 2 06-08-2004 07:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com