Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:08 PM
iminzayne iminzayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or

"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload."


thats the error message i got before my mbox 2 pro gave out on me. i've re installed PT8 and tried all my firewire connections....do you think my mbox 2 pro is really dead? its not recognized in my device manager and theres no signs of life at all....

my build

ASUS P5K Deluxe
Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz
2 GB DDR2/800
MBox2 Pro PT8

help please!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2009, 01:31 AM
nto nto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 28
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

i was getting these same DAE (9073 i think) with a stem mix i was using to test my PT 8 upgrade which had me stumped for a while

errors stopped when i edited the stems by removing all the silent bits on the stems and i managed to nearly get through the whole song then started getting hw buffer messages


still, working my way through it and trawling through DUC for answers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:37 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Have you tried the steps in the General Troubleshooting thread yet? If not - please start there...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:45 AM
tech1 tech1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

The P5K series on-board firewire are definitely NOT compatible with Digidesign's firewire interfaces. We've been adding a dedicated card on the P5K-based system we use, and it solved this problem. Make sure this isn't the cause first.

Also, what type of drive are you recording to? The system drive? firewire? USB? second internal? and what speed is it?
__________________
~Matt Hollingsworth
Lead PC Repair/Install Tech
Sweetwater Service Department
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:59 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminzayne View Post
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload."


thats the error message i got before my mbox 2 pro gave out on me. i've re installed PT8 and tried all my firewire connections....do you think my mbox 2 pro is really dead? its not recognized in my device manager and theres no signs of life at all....

my build

ASUS P5K Deluxe
Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz
2 GB DDR2/800
MBox2 Pro PT8

help please!
Are you having problems with a HD Drive also? or just the MBox2 Pro? The fastest way to tell if the MBox is okay is try in on another computer. ASUS uses several different FW chips and not all of them are compatble with PT-Some work some don't. YMMV. Your best bet is using a Digi Approved and tested FW card. Also be aware SpySweeper can block the FW port and cause the 002/003/MBoxPro to not be recognised
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:16 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminzayne View Post
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload."


thats the error message i got before my mbox 2 pro gave out on me. i've re installed PT8 and tried all my firewire connections....do you think my mbox 2 pro is really dead? its not recognized in my device manager and theres no signs of life at all....

my build

ASUS P5K Deluxe
Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz
2 GB DDR2/800
MBox2 Pro PT8

help please!
The text of the error is saying that it can't get data from the hard drive (firewire?) fast enough, yet your questions seems to say that your Mbox2Pro is the problem. Which is it? I just don't want your to spend your time to try to fix the Mbox2Pro when the issue is the hard drive. You mention that your Mbox2Pro "gave out" on you. What exactly happened? we're going ot need a lot more information to be able to try to help you.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2009, 03:52 PM
BenEllis BenEllis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 12
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

I started having the same issue on playback. The same error message -9073. I was playing back from the computer hard drive (not recommended) or from a portable firewire. I went to the general trouble shooting page

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=54888

and performed the following: delete Pro Tools preferences, repair permissions, delete databases and volumes. I lost some data from sessions saved on my hard drive but I had copies on my firewire. I copied these back to the computer hard drive (not recommended) and it plays now without error. However, when I try to play from my firewire I still get the error message.

Ben

MacBook Pro OSX 10.4.11 2.2 GHz 2GB
Pro Tools LE 7.4 MBox 2 Mini
Iomega LPHD160-C firewire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:16 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Not attempting to record to your system drive are you? That's a BIG problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:33 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Did you format the Iomega drive using the OS X Disk Utility?

I can't find specific info using the model number you gave me - is there any other model info?

How are you connecting the drive to the computer - which port and what type of cable? Are there any other peripherals attached?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:59 AM
BenEllis BenEllis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 12
Default Re: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Did you format the Iomega drive using the OS X Disk Utility?

I can't find specific info using the model number you gave me - is there any other model info?

How are you connecting the drive to the computer - which port and what type of cable? Are there any other peripherals attached?
Yes, I formatted the Iomega with the OSX disk utility. It's a Iomega Silver Series USB/firewire 400 bus powered, 160 GB, connected using a firewire cable to the firewire outlet on the side of my MacBook Pro opposite the power cord. Link for drive...

http://tinyurl.com/d6dt7g

Also connected is the MBox 2 Mini which is connected via USB outlet on the same side as the power cord. The Iomega has the capacity for external power but I've not tried that yet.

Ben Ellis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE drive too slow or fragmented. Stop playback fab leseure Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 11-15-2011 03:30 AM
Drive too slow or fragmented messages... andrewd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-30-2010 12:26 PM
DAE can't get audio from hard drive fast enough, hard drive may be fragmented, there huncke Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 02-23-2010 02:06 PM
"DRIVE TO SLOW OR FRAGMENTED" RoyaltyOnline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2006 09:50 PM
Drive is too fragmented or too slow? scenaria Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-26-2001 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com