Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-06-2019, 08:30 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Not correct. We still offer Perpetual licenses in addition to Subscriptions. (Annual Subscription is the same price as a Perpetual Upgrade so maybe that's causing confusion?)

Subscription is a temporary license. With this, you can only run Pro Tools while your subscription is active. It's like renting (which is why it's less expensive than buying a new perpetual license) and you don't need a previous license to subscribe. Might be a better option if budget is a concern or if you have a short term need (e.g. 2 month project that requires 4 systems running simultaneously).

Perpetual is a non-expiring license. This authorizes any versions released over the next 12 months. You can then renew to get another 12 months of releases, or let the Update Plan lapse and continue using your license to run any versions released up through your Plan's expiration date.
avid.force.com/pkb/articles/faq/Pro-Tools-Licensing-FAQ has more info on this topic but please ask if you need further clarification.
jeffro, and as well as others thank you so much for helping me. Boy being on 9 for so long a lot of things have changed, and great changes indeed.


I'm still on my 003 console, and would I be able (GAIN)or take advantages getting HD vs vanilla ?. Man I'm dating myself.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2019, 04:40 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Perhaps you are comparing perpetual and subscription?

A 1 year subscription is $299US, but that stops working at the end of a year. You can subscribe again (monthly or annually) as desired.

The $599US perpetual license never expires, so you can continue to run the latest version provided during your Update Plan's term.

Okay please forgive me?


A 1 year subscription is $299US, but that stops working at the end of a year.

But this is what I found ?
Avid Upgrade and Support plans provide software upgrades and customer support for one (1) year.
Once your license is covered by a support plan, you may continue to run your current version of Avid software for as long as you wish; you do not need to upgrade your license or your software. As upgrades become available, you can choose to either accept the upgrade or not at any time during the term of the support plan. At the end of the support period, the software will continue to run and you may use it indefinitely.


Please be gentle.
I what to upgrade from 9, and what I'm reading is (indefinitely). I'm ready to pull the trigger but like so many in the past I heard many stories of this and that ?


__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:20 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Perhaps you are comparing perpetual and subscription?

A 1 year subscription is $299US, but that stops working at the end of a year. You can subscribe again (monthly or annually) as desired.

The $599US perpetual license never expires, so you can continue to run the latest version provided during your Update Plan's term.

Okay please forgive me?


A 1 year subscription is $299US, but that stops working at the end of a year.

But this is what I found ?
Avid Upgrade and Support plans provide software upgrades and customer support for one (1) year.
Once your license is covered by a support plan, you may continue to run your current version of Avid software for as long as you wish; you do not need to upgrade your license or your software. As upgrades become available, you can choose to either accept the upgrade or not at any time during the term of the support plan. At the end of the support period, the software will continue to run and you may use it indefinitely.


Please be gentle.
I what to upgrade from 9, and what I'm reading is (indefinitely). I'm ready to pull the trigger but like so many in the past I heard many stories of this and that ?


I just got off the chat line with Avid, if I upgrade from my PT9, for $299 subscription it will still run after a year, but I won't get any updates after the year unless I renew.


What suxs is that I can't use my Digi 003 console (BUMMER) !. So that leaves me out I guess for now.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,399
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

You are making this harder for yourself than it should be. Most of the stuff you are asking about has info already online/findable.

I expect your 003 Console might work, but not be officially supported. You can check in about that on DUC. Start by searching for past posts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:30 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You are making this very hard for yourself.

I expect your 003 Console might work, but not be officially supported. You can check in that on DUC.
Darryl, I knew it was coming, and I deserve it (LOL). One post mentioned that it will no longer work after a year, and that was my biggest concern, and not to worried about updates anyways, just a stable release I guess.



I'll dig around if there are any 003 users.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:33 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,399
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

... or post that clear question in a new thread if you can’t find anything. Sorry typing on an iPhone with a crappy connection and I was trying to soften how that post read.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-07-2019, 06:20 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

I hear you brutha ?LOL
Posted on another section indeed.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-2019, 09:25 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
...I just got off the chat line with Avid, if I upgrade from my PT9, for $299 subscription it will still run after a year, but I won't get any updates after the year unless I renew...
There are 2 license types: Perpetual and Subscription.

It's easy to lump everything together and call it subscription, and having the Annual Subscription and Perpetual Upgrade both priced at $299 might be adding to the confusion.

You have a Perpetual license (you own it and it never expires) not a Subscription (which is like renting).

You can upgrade your license for $299 - you'll get a bundle of perpetual licenses and any new versions released for a year. You can then renew the Update Plan to get another year of releases or let it lapse and continue using any version provided.

Buying an Annual Subscription (also $299) would get you new releases for a year, but the license would stop working after a year. This is really more of an option for new users as an alternative to buying a new perpetual license for $599.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-2019, 10:33 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Thank you so kindly jeffro.


Looking forward to it, as soon as find out more that I can still use my 003. Not supported, although many are using it with 2018, and I have to make sure I make the correct moves.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2019, 01:28 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: From 9 upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
...as soon as find out more that I can still use my 003. Not supported, although many are using it with 2018...
You could check it out using the Pro Tools Trial (on a clone of your system drive if possible) to see if the current version works for you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade a license when upgrade plan is expired albertocarlassare Licensing & Accounts 1 03-20-2019 12:52 PM
Missing 1 qualifying license(s) for upgrade to Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools 12 bangmusicdk Licensing & Accounts 0 11-12-2016 10:27 AM
Pro Tools Upgrade Upgrade Plan Extenstion adam79 Pro Tools 12 3 04-30-2016 10:07 AM
PT10 from PT9 upgrade with free PT11 upgrade curlydog Pro Tools 10 4 05-10-2013 08:32 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com