Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2012, 10:34 PM
Nick Cancilla Nick Cancilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jacinto USA
Posts: 11
Default DAE Transport controls inoperative

I recently installed Pro Tools 10.2 HD in one of our studios. It was up and running, fully functional. However, there is a problem with the session not responding to transport commands, specifically "play", "scrub", "record", or any command requiring audio output, including auditioning files to import. The first time this came up, relaunching Pro Tools fixed it. On subsequent instances, I had to re-install the 10.2 software. Then I discovered that deleting the Digidesign Databases and Preferences, following the instructions for Windows 7 Optimization from the Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting fixes the problem. However, this is somewhat time consuming. This situation comes up when I open up an existing session after working in another session. I have a tech support request in on this matter, but was hoping someone has encountered and handled this situation. Any insight on this? Best Regards, Nick Cancilla, Audio Engineer at Golden Era Productions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:35 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

What hardware Nick?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2012, 10:20 PM
Nick Cancilla Nick Cancilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jacinto USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

Dear Tom,

We are using 192 IO's and HDX cards.

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2012, 07:54 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

Nick, it would help to know more about your computer hardware as well.

Are you running any Anti Virus Programs, and are you using Wireless?

Have you run Digitest on your Avid hardware?

Are you using a control surface?

Are you using a Kensington mouse/trackball?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2012, 11:25 AM
Nick Cancilla Nick Cancilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jacinto USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

Sorry Tom,

On this particular station we are using a Kensington trackball.

There are no Antivirus programs running (or installed) on the computer.

The network we are using is not wireless, it's Ethernet Cat 6 on a Pro Curve switcher.

No control surface.

I did run the Digitest program once, when this bug first started.

Digidesign Tech Support suggested selecting the session overwrite option in the IO setup, but that has not handled the problem. I am wondering if the "Wiindows 7 Optimization" procedure for Pro Tools has one or more spurious steps. For example, there is no start up item called "MME Refresh" that I can find in Wiindows 7.

Struggling a bit with this one.

Best,
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2012, 12:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

I have seen these issues before with the Kensington, try uninstalling the driver and using a standard USB device.

And yes, the new I/O setup is a bit of a hassle. Try the default settings on all pages.

Let us know.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2012, 11:00 AM
Nick Cancilla Nick Cancilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jacinto USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

Dear Tom,

This bug looks like it surrendered.

A sound design indexing program called "Sound Miner" was apparently creating a conflict.

Closing Sound Miner handled the problem, but that was a non-optimum solution, as our Sound Designers use the program continually.

Increasing the Hardware Buffer Size from 256 to 512 looks like it handles the problem.

Thanks for your interest in this.

Best, Nick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: DAE Transport controls inoperative

Great Nick, it's good to know about "Sound Miner".
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugs (BFD) not following PT transport controls. ChuckS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-16-2009 07:13 AM
Transport Controls russrags 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-08-2009 03:02 AM
Pro Tools 8 LE Transport Controls K2NOMII MIDI 1 02-25-2009 09:38 AM
M-Box transport inoperative jojo wuzaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-14-2002 07:28 AM
Transport Controls blorge Digidesign Hardware & Software 7 04-15-2001 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com