Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-28-2007, 03:21 PM

Default Pro Tools and Garageband

Can Garageband be a client for Pro Tools using ReWire?
Old 11-28-2007, 03:31 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools and Garageband

I kind of have the same question... I know that GarageBand can't ReWire into Pro Tools but is there a way to import my GarageBand tracks into Pro Tools?
Old 12-03-2007, 02:35 PM

I just started playing with garage band. Now I have the same question. Is there any way short of encoding an mp3 to move tracks from garage band to pro tools?
Old 12-03-2007, 03:47 PM

don't use MP3's

pro tools adds a seemingly random number of samples to the front of an MP3 files when importing and converting to the current session format

this can actually put the MP3 out of sync with the grid (if you're using other tracks in grid mode)

and would put you out of sync again when reimporting back into GB (if that's your intention)

use aif or wav format

but yes, this is possible

and no, you cannot as of now rewire garageband into PT

hope this helps
PT Ultimate
Old 12-03-2007, 03:59 PM
Avid

Quote:
pro tools adds a seemingly random number of samples to the front of an MP3 files when importing and converting to the current session format
Just for reference - this is a symptom of the codec, not Pro Tools. Different codecs add different amounts of blank space and, as far as I've seen, every codec has this 'problem'.
Old 12-03-2007, 04:33 PM

I have done extensive testing on this subject when I first ran into it at least 3 years ago

and there seriously seems to be no exact logic to it