Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2012, 01:07 PM
11R Newbie 11R Newbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 19
Default Pro Tools 10 updates - how are you guys handling them?

Hi guys,

How are you handling the Pro Tools 10 updates? Are you updating every time or are you reading the info when the update comes out to see if it addresses an issue you have encountered, etc.?

I bought my 11R + Pro Tools 10 early this year and recorded my first EP using PT version 10.0. I have not downloaded any of the updates and I'm getting ready to start recording another EP and I am wondering if I need to update before I begin. I have not encountered any issues with PT and I'm weary of possibly bringing issues upon myself by downloading the newest version.

Also, Avid is recommending a complete uninstall before downloading the newest version. After you uninstall, I assume you have to log into your Avid account so that "it" knows you are entitled to the newest version, is that correct? I'm obviously unsure of the process given the suggestion of a complete uninstall. The newest readme doc didn't provide me with definitive directions.

Thoughts? Thanks and I hope everyone has a fantastic Christmas.

Brook
brookshepherd.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:31 PM
sorcerer27 sorcerer27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 updates - how are you guys handling them?

Brook,
I'd stay clear of doing any upgrading prior to working on your new LP. As the saying goes If it aint broke don't fix it. Once you've completed your project then go about doing the upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2012, 04:26 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 updates - how are you guys handling them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorcerer27 View Post
Brook,
I'd stay clear of doing any upgrading prior to working on your new LP. As the saying goes If it aint broke don't fix it. Once you've completed your project then go about doing the upgrades.
+1
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.3.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:42 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 updates - how are you guys handling them?

Is it broken? No, Should I fix it? No
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2012, 04:07 PM
11R Newbie 11R Newbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 19
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 updates - how are you guys handling them?

Awesome, thanks for the input guys. My Sweetwater guy basically said the same thing. Again, thanks. I hope you guys have a wonderful Christmas.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 8.0cs1 Updates & Satellite Option Updates Avid Post - Surround - Video 1 02-04-2009 12:19 AM
Pro Tools 8.0cs1 Updates & Satellite Option Updates Avid Technical Alerts 2 02-04-2009 12:06 AM
Pro Tools 8.0cs1 Updates & Satellite Option Updates Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-19-2009 08:00 PM
do you guys always update your windows updates? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-02-2004 11:18 PM
Tempo Handling in Pro tools jejefunkyman Tips & Tricks 7 02-26-2001 06:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com