Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2013, 10:37 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Still no Softube

Rant on.

I had never used Softube but as they ported to AAX-DSP first (at the release of the HDX system), I got them all. For 2 reasons:

A - I craved AAX DSP plugins so I thought I'd check them out
B - to support those who supported my HDX platform

Now they needed to port to 64 bit and 4 months later- nothing. Almost all of my other AAX-DSP plugins are long ported and working well (mcDSP, MH, Wave Arts, Brainworx, Sonnox), it seems Softube dropped the ball on the customers that supported them and helped them grow and develop their Console 1. (which seems to be where their efforts are and not to their loyal client base that helped propel them into a more successful company)

If I did that to my clients who supported me when I was a small company only to ignore them when I grew to the size I am now, I would quickly lose my clients.

Even with their lame promise of 'soon' and end of September, I don't feel it's worth it to go back and forth from 10 to 11 just to use sessions loaded with their plugs. As of now, all have been replaced and I no longer miss them. And I will remember how they ignored their client base to instead develop hardware, plugins for NI and others and ignore their own library.


Fool me once...


Rant off
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2013, 11:58 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,660
Default Re: Still no Softube

They haven't released it yet because they don't release half-baked software that isn't fully functional. So, the quick fix is to use 10.xxx for now, which is what the vast majority of us are doing. Same story is true of Uaudio powered plugins. And they'll both be worth the wait, I suspect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2013, 12:39 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Still no Softube

I've successfully used Trident A-Range and Summit Grand Channel in PT11, through Metaplugin. They worked fine. Consider trying that out - all of Softube's stuff should be compatible, since they all have 64bit versions of VST.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2013, 01:19 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Still no Softube

All missing the point.

It's not about half-baked software. It's about putting it in the oven.

As an HDX user I supported them because they developed AAX-DSP versions of their catalogue on day 1. AAX-DSP 32 bit. Now all they had to do was make them 64 bit. They had a lot of time to convert their plugins from 32 bit to 64 bit. It wasn't as if they had to convert from TDM or RTAS. Instead they devoted their resources to new ventures and didn't bother with the existing client base who provided them the funds to move into new ventures. That's bad policy.

I'm sure when they get around to porting 32 bit to 64 bit they'll be baked. I would've expected them to show us more respect.

And yes, I know they work in 10 and with various bridge options. I don't need to perform workarounds for stuff I expected, based on their past performance, to get out of the gate as quickly as their first batch did.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2013, 01:52 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Still no Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
I don't need to perform workarounds for stuff I expected, based on their past performance, to get out of the gate as quickly as their first batch did.
I hear you, and how you proceed is up to you. But there are working alternatives (in my case the $39 Metaplugin) that are easy to implement if the AAX2 release falls short of your expectations.

I was merely proposing it as a stopgap measure, not as a replacement for a proper AAX2 release.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2013, 01:57 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,791
Default Re: Still no Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
Rant on.

I had never used Softube but as they ported to AAX-DSP first (at the release of the HDX system), I got them all. For 2 reasons:

A - I craved AAX DSP plugins so I thought I'd check them out
B - to support those who supported my HDX platform

Now they needed to port to 64 bit and 4 months later- nothing. Almost all of my other AAX-DSP plugins are long ported and working well (mcDSP, MH, Wave Arts, Brainworx, Sonnox), it seems Softube dropped the ball on the customers that supported them and helped them grow and develop their Console 1. (which seems to be where their efforts are and not to their loyal client base that helped propel them into a more successful company)

If I did that to my clients who supported me when I was a small company only to ignore them when I grew to the size I am now, I would quickly lose my clients.

Even with their lame promise of 'soon' and end of September, I don't feel it's worth it to go back and forth from 10 to 11 just to use sessions loaded with their plugs. As of now, all have been replaced and I no longer miss them. And I will remember how they ignored their client base to instead develop hardware, plugins for NI and others and ignore their own library.


Fool me once...


Rant off
The NI plugs they helped with were done long before this was ever an issue.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2013, 01:59 PM
Glenjb Glenjb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 656
Default Re: Still no Softube

Yeah, it sucks but it has to be any day now right?

Softube plugins just sound too good for me to boycott, I also have been using metaplugin for them in 11

I do wish they would have done public beta like soundtoys did.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2013, 02:16 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,791
Default Re: Still no Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenjb View Post
Yeah, it sucks but it has to be any day now right?

Softube plugins just sound too good for me to boycott, I also have been using metaplugin for them in 11

I do wish they would have done public beta like soundtoys did.
Soundtoys is still Mac only for AAX.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2013, 02:35 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: Still no Softube

Softube... Slate... McDsp Win... Soundtoys Win... I need 'em.

Well, at least I want 'em.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2013, 12:21 AM
freaken freaken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faulconbridge, Sydney, Oztraya
Posts: 47
Default Re: Still no Softube

I'm pretty ticked off at Softube too. It seems they are trading on previous well earned good will. They are really eroding that good will now with me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64 bit AAX for Softube? PatriotsBiker AAX Plug-ins 6 10-01-2013 12:24 PM
Any Softube news out there? clausiii AAX Plug-ins 8 09-24-2013 11:35 PM
Softube AAX guatamas AAX Plug-ins 4 07-01-2013 01:02 PM
NI Reverbs by Softube, AAX too digidesigner AAX Plug-ins 2 01-25-2013 01:45 PM
Softube AAX gtrm8kr AAX Plug-ins 4 09-27-2012 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com