Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2019, 04:32 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Dock softkeys (possible bug - update 20.1 fixed this)

First, let me give praise to Eddie and the team at Avid for getting the new Control app out. Re-writing code for something from the ground up while keeping it consistent with an already familiar product isn't easy and they still got it out along with a new piece of kit at the same time. So, hats off to you guys as the effort is appreciated here.

In getting to my question, has anyone else out there lost the function of the softkeys with apps outside of PT (or maybe other Eucon-ized apps)? I ported over older appsets with success for all of the programming associated with the touchscreen but none of the softkeys work on the Dock itself. I use this a lot with RX7 and the softkeys are where the majority of my actions take place. They do work as softkeys in the touchscreen section of the app so it's not a total loss but the physical buttons do not execute the action programmed. They light up accordingly and the transport buttons I've programmed work as well as the jog knob.

To be clear, they work fine in PT it's just the non-Eucon apps where they aren't working. Anyone else seeing this?

-Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com

Last edited by bewk; 02-13-2020 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2019, 01:42 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

I have forwarded this to the test team to look at...(its better posting on here and not FB ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2019, 08:26 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Much obliged, sir.

I deleted my Facebook account years ago and my world is a better place for it.

Cheers,
Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2019, 08:53 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Interesting....so you are not the only one !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-12-21 165227.jpg (46.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2019, 10:32 AM
Jamieroden Jamieroden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Yes I’ve been having this problem for a few weeks. Lost the dock control soft keys for izotope RX7 adv, completely non responsive.
I upgraded this week to the new version of eucon and the Control app running on iPad 2018 and still the same issue.
Eddie has been offering help to me on a feed in the Facebook user group but as yet unresolved.

The last offering was to reinstall everything. I’m yet to do that and glad I haven’t yet now finding this feed and knowing it’s not just me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2019, 12:26 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Sorry you're experiencing this too but at least I'm not the only one. I upgraded to High Sierra this week just for compatibility with the new app so this is the first time I've experienced this. All was good in Sierra with original app. Just to confirm the behavior is the same with other apps too. QuickTime player 7, VLC, etc. The touchscreen works. Buttons don't. It isn't just RX. I'll give the re-install a shot and see if that fixes it.

Thanks,
Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2019, 08:42 AM
Jamieroden Jamieroden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

For me it started with the Eucon update prior to this weeks. I’m on Mohave on a 5.1 Mac Pro. Was definitely the eucon update for me, I noticed instantly after the update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2020, 09:28 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

We found the issue and it will be fixed in 20.1 soon. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2020, 11:02 AM
Jamieroden Jamieroden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Nice one Eddie!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2020, 03:23 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Dock softkeys (possible bug)

Thanks for the follow up, Eddie. Glad you were able to hunt it down so quickly.

Cheers,
Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock 12 Softkeys going to sleep mattrixx Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 6 09-06-2018 04:54 PM
S6 Softkeys PatrickCusack Avid S6 4 05-23-2018 04:32 AM
Pro Tools 18.1 Softkeys EddieJones Avid S6 5 01-31-2018 04:02 AM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
C|24 and PTHD softkeys fakir_cz ICON & C|24 4 12-01-2011 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com