Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2015, 08:47 AM
norte norte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Default more than 200 snapshots with Midi

Hi, I'm doing a musical theater with: venue profile and Qlab 3. I want to recall all snapshot from qlab, but just can do 128.
I used this commands: program change: chanel 1, program number (x0-127) this is it a snapshots.

How to do to recall sanpshots 128-200?

And second question, How can send from qlab to venue midi message to mute or un-mute VCA?

Pd- sorry for my english, I 'm not english talking. I hope you can understand me.

thanks.

and
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2015, 09:37 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: more than 200 snapshots with Midi

Quote:
Originally Posted by norte View Post
Hi, I'm doing a musical theater with: venue profile and Qlab 3. I want to recall all snapshot from qlab, but just can do 128.
I used this commands: program change: chanel 1, program number (x0-127) this is it a snapshots.

How to do to recall sanpshots 128-200?

And second question, How can send from qlab to venue midi message to mute or un-mute VCA?

Pd- sorry for my english, I 'm not english talking. I hope you can understand me.

thanks.

and
Unfortunately, you will not be able to use PC messages for more than 128 snapshots, unless you change the receiving channel mid-show or something like that.

Also, Venue cannot mute a VCA from a Midi Message directly.

However, a potential solution to both problems is to use a Midi-to-Relay conversion device. This would allow you to use Q-lab or a midi controller to trigger GPI-driven events on the desk. In this way you could control a VCA mute. You still wouldn't be able to specifically recall 128+ snapshots, but you could put your snapshots in chronological order and program a GPI-driven event to "recall next snapshot", then use Q-lab to advance through your pre-ordered snapshot list. I actually do both of these things with a midi controller and it works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2015, 11:52 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: more than 200 snapshots with Midi

Hi,

All 999 snapshots can be recalled via MIDI, using an additional MIDI BANK command, sent prior to the PROGRAM command. Here is the table describing which snapshots are associated with each BANK and PROGRAM command.

MIDI Bank and Program Numbers for Snapshots

Bank : Program : Snapshot Number

0 : 0–127 : 001–128
1 : 0–127 : 129–256
2 : 0–127 : 257–384
3 : 0–127 : 385–512
4 : 0–127 : 513–640
5 : 0–127 : 641–768
6 : 0–127 : 769–896
7 : 0–103 : 897–999

VENUE software stores Bank Select messages, so it is not necessary to send a Bank Select message prior to every Program Change message. You only need to send a Bank Select message when you want to recall a snapshot in a different bank from the previous snapshot.

To mute/unmute a particular VCA it's possible to create two snapshots (mute ON, mute OFF) and recall these via MIDI.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2015, 12:50 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: more than 200 snapshots with Midi

Wow, news to me (and welcome news at that). Thanks for correcting me Sheldon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2015, 01:09 PM
norte norte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Default Re: more than 200 snapshots with Midi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
Hi,

All 999 snapshots can be recalled via MIDI, using an additional MIDI BANK command, sent prior to the PROGRAM command. Here is the table describing which snapshots are associated with each BANK and PROGRAM command.

MIDI Bank and Program Numbers for Snapshots

Bank : Program : Snapshot Number

0 : 0–127 : 001–128
1 : 0–127 : 129–256
2 : 0–127 : 257–384
3 : 0–127 : 385–512
4 : 0–127 : 513–640
5 : 0–127 : 641–768
6 : 0–127 : 769–896
7 : 0–103 : 897–999

VENUE software stores Bank Select messages, so it is not necessary to send a Bank Select message prior to every Program Change message. You only need to send a Bank Select message when you want to recall a snapshot in a different bank from the previous snapshot.

To mute/unmute a particular VCA it's possible to create two snapshots (mute ON, mute OFF) and recall these via MIDI.

Sheldon

Thanks for your answer.
How can I sent from Qlab to venue this command? Program Change, Control Change, note... I can not use Bank 0 just 1 to 16.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L snapshots Jason Raboin VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-27-2014 03:36 PM
Midi recall of snapshots Qlab djcartledge VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 12-06-2012 09:16 PM
Snapshots? James Drake Pro Tools 10 11 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
Snapshots - Aux Mon vs. Aux FX spendergrass VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-23-2010 03:07 PM
Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots? thirdrailrecording VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-24-2010 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com