Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2014, 07:46 PM
parsen parsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 4
Default Venue display (GUI) pet peeve

Hi all,

My pet peeve is with the displaying of the EQ, Compressor and Gate graphs in the Venue software. When setting built-in compressor settings for example, why does the Venue software screen's display go from the compressor graph to the EQ graph when you select the next channel you want to make compressor adjustments on? Changing the selected channel does not change the selected channel control which is still compressor selected. In order to get the compressor graph back you have to press the compressor channel control switch again which I repeat is already selected. Shouldn't the graph follow the channel control switch and stay on the selected channel control until a different channel control is selected? Put an other way, I don't want to see the EQ graph again until I press on the EQ channel control switch in order to make EQ changes. Is there a switch in the set-up screens somewhere that allows for this logic to be set as the preference?

kindest regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2014, 11:03 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue display (GUI) pet peeve

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.

This behavior (EQ displayed when channel selected) was introduced a few versions ago at the request of many users, who were frustrated that they had to re-select the EQ function when moving between channels. When we polled users the majority wanted EQ as the default screen, so that was what was chosen (knowing that someone wanting to adjust comp/gate across multiple channels would have to re-select).

It could be made as user option in a future release. You can make feature requests here:
http://avid.venue.ideascale.com

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2014, 02:15 PM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default Re: Venue display (GUI) pet peeve

would be great to have an option to either stay at the screen being selected or have EQ/DYN what ever as default when changing. I'd definitely vote for that
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2014, 08:57 PM
parsen parsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Venue display (GUI) pet peeve

Hi Sheldon,
Thank you for your response. What you are describing is not what I am experiencing. The EQ function is not being re-selected when I select a different channel.

What I am experiencing is as follows: Let’s say I have selected channel 1, then I have pressed on the compressor channel control to make adjustments to channel 1’s compressor. Once I am done making compressor changes on channel 1, I select channel 2. After I have selected channel 2, the compressor channel control is still selected but the EQ graph for channel 2 is displayed. So if I want to make changes to the compressor on channel 2, I must select the compressor channel control again to see the compressor graph or if I want to do EQ changes on channel 2, I must select the EQ channel control for the 8 encoders to control the EQ. So, either way I am halfway to accomplishing one task or the other, which means a lot of button pushing for nothing.

Hopefully Avid will entertain adding a user preference in the setup of the system. Seems to me the graph should always follow the channel control regardless. A user preference allowing the channel control to follow its last selected value or to goto a user selected default channel control would be a very good feature. This could be done with a simple pull-down menu.

kindest regards,
parsen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software screen pet peeve parsen Tips & Tricks 5 05-19-2014 04:42 AM
Pet peeve - more info PLEASE! musicman691 General Discussion 7 09-28-2013 02:37 PM
Pet PEEVE!!!!! Inport session data and fades. postprosound Post - Surround - Video 1 08-05-2011 09:05 AM
Pet Peeve/Feature Request... O.G. Killa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-17-2003 03:29 AM
Why must we deauthorize?...It is my PT pet peeve... GuitarEasley General Discussion 0 09-04-2001 02:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com