Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-19-2013, 04:59 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

The "Hack" Pro is getting more and more attractive.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2013, 05:21 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Quote:
Originally Posted by conleec View Post
everything in that picture would most likely have been connected via cable to the big box too.
No way - with 3 internal sata3 drives at the very least that would not be connected
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:15 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
I think many MacPro users will be drawn to Hackintoshs. And why shouldn't they?
Coming from two MacPros I've been running two Hacks myself for about a year now, and haven't had a single problem. I built one for a (bigger) fellow studio last year. They are completely satisfied as well. I assisted a few guys here at the DUC living in the states building one (which was a little more bumpy, than doing it with my own hands, but still it worked out) and no complaints so far.
A Hackintosh nowadays (since ML) is a viable and rock-solid solution, that's easy to setup. No maintenance required. A lot of horsepower for comparably small $.
I understand that people hesitate. But they really don't need to.
I'm going hackintosh on my next one. I don't need an iTrashcan.

Don't care about Thunderbolt that much. Sure its a great as a portable solution, but still not as good as PCIe and having the ability to pop tons of RAM in.

No thanks Apple, I'll pass on this MacPro trashcan.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:54 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
No way - with 3 internal sata3 drives at the very least that would not be connected
Yeah, I've got three internal drives, and I STILL have that much stuff hanging off my computer most of the time. Like I said, I would have preferred a big-box approach for a number of reasons, but I still have a tangle of wires no matter what, so I suppose i'll get used to it (if the power warrants it). Otherwise, I'll jump to PC or Hackintosh too.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:06 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
The "Hack" Pro is getting more and more attractive.
Dan,
What exactly is involved in "blessing" hard drives to make them bootable on a Hack? I build, clone, and maintain MULTIPLE hard drives with various OSes, PT vers constantly and people have said that's non conducive to hackintoshes.

Any thoughts?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:18 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

A hard drive is a hard drive in a hack

But to make a bootable hard drive in a hack u need a boot loader - a shell if U will to let the Mac OS startup

I clone my boot drive all the time and I have no startup issues
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:36 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Perhaps the drive manufacturers will design an enclosure that will match the new MacPro like that did for the older MacPros. And with all those ports, putting the audio interface and other devices in a small rack, positioned away from the workstation may be a good idea.

I'm sure we'll see some imaginative solutions.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

iClutter
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:25 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,353
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Perhaps Avid should redesign the enclosure for the HD IO so that it's shaped like an "O". Then they could call it the HD IO-O
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,877
Default Re: 2013 Mac pro setup......

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Perhaps Avid should redesign the enclosure for the HD IO so that it's shaped like an "O". Then they could call it the HD IO-O
Old MacDonald had a Mac.....H-D-E-IO............
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid at IBC 2013 Bruce Paine General Announcements 1 08-30-2013 02:10 AM
The New 2013 Mac Pro blackc7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 06-19-2013 09:54 AM
Chat Transcript | Avid PT 11 Webinar at NAB 2013 | 04/09/2013 Meads Pro Tools 11 13 04-29-2013 11:29 AM
Avid at NAB 2013 Bruce Paine General Announcements 1 03-29-2013 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com