Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2011, 01:45 AM

Default mono / stereo question

Hi Avid DUC,

I was a logic pro user ,only just moved to protools 8 HD

I have some question in regards the import section
How come protools imports all tracks into stereo?
For example if i import a bass file which is mono, it creates a track pan hard left & right. why is this so?

Under create new tracks u have the option of mono tracks. Why doesn't it just creates a mono track for mono files?

In logic, it does it automatically. You also have the option at the bottom of the channel strip to switch from stereo -mono or the other way around.
Can this be done in protool?? I have just imported around 15 mono tracks into protools. They are all converted to L & R. Can i change back the channels to mono?

Any help and advise would be much appreciated
Thank you for your time and advise
Old 03-17-2011, 03:25 AM

Default Re: mono / stereo question

protools does not duplicate mono files into stereo tracks on import in the case that they are mono.
i've imported lots of tracks from various sources, they come in mono if they are mono.
i imported tracks from a band's garage band demo session, garage band can't export mono files so it exports each track to stereo. i had to import to the region list and copy the files onto mono tracks.

i'm not familiar with logic pro, are you sure the file isn't being exported as stereo?

www.jntracks.com
Old 03-17-2011, 03:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jntracks View Post
protools does not duplicate mono files into stereo tracks on import in the case that they are mono.
i've imported lots of tracks from various sources, they come in mono if they are mono.
i imported tracks from a band's garage band demo session, garage band can't export mono files so it exports each track to stereo. i had to import to the region list and copy the files onto mono tracks.