Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-1999, 01:34 AM
drumbeat drumbeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Tienen, Belgium
Posts: 12
Default System requirements

Will the following system do for the digi-001 package?

G3 233 Mhz beige
160 Mb Ram
Ultra SCSI 4 gig HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-1999, 07:32 PM
Micro Micro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: System requirements

What is the minimun RAM recommended for 001?

If you have a G4 450, or 500, what kind of performance can you expect in the way of DSP plug-ins?

Can you use internal Mac Hard Drives that come with G4's (20 or 27 Gig)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-1999, 08:51 AM
LesPaulz LesPaulz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Nutley, New Jersey USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: System requirements

I have contacted digidesign on the system requirements of Digi-001, and in no way will they give any info until the product is released(A rep said it's been pushed to November ; (...I am expecting that if you want 24 tracks, with a lot of plug in effects, a higher end G3 or baseline G4 would be needed, since the system relies heavily on processor power and ram, and the beige G3's might choke due to their slower system bus speed (66Mhz). This is just a (where x can equal any character...)some foresighted opinion, But I opted for a new G4 to support the Digi-001, and beware all G4 buyers, some machines(Yosemite L/B)have defective HD's in them S/N's xx938xxxxxx5000 machines were affected,and Apple has a solution in the Tech Info Library fo their website.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-1999, 08:55 AM
LesPaulz LesPaulz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Nutley, New Jersey USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: System requirements

Not to be a chatterbox, but I think that you would definitely need a SCSI HD for Digi001 audiofiles(and remember...PT softaware will not author on SCSI Hard Drives...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-1999, 02:56 PM
smog90 smog90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 50
Default Re: System requirements

I have a PowerMac 7600/132 (data path speed is 44MHz) with 160megs of RAM and a Seagate Cheetah 9.1Gig hard drive. I am going to get a NewerTech 400MHz G3 upgrade. Any thoughts on how this set up will work with the Digi 001? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-1999, 03:50 PM
dadoland dadoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA, US
Posts: 22
Default Re: System requirements

ProdInfo:

I can't find the memory requirements on the digi001 site? Where are they?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-1999, 09:49 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,504
Default Re: System requirements

You're right, we don't have the system requirements or compatibility docs for the new systems because we haven't completed testing.
Because of the heavy RAM requirements on the host system, they're like ly to be something like 128 MB Minimum/192 MB recommended for something like the 001.

------------------
Bruce Paine
Mgr. eMarketing


__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-1999, 10:00 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,504
Default Re: System requirements

We're almost certainly not going to be able to test older CPUs with G3 upgrade cards. WAY to many possible configurations. Judging from past experience, though, a Newertech upgrade card may very well work with the new hardware. It's highly unlikely that a 7600/132 will do much without an upgrade card.
The Digi 001 is made to take full advantage of the power of today's faster computers, and anything slower than probably a 9600/300 or 350 is probably going to be too slow without an upgrade.

This is where it's going to get a bit frustrating for some of you, the users, and we as the company that have to go through our own testing. We have a lot of G3's and G4's to test, as well as PCs for the upcoming Win/98 release. When I say that we're probably not going to be able to test processor upgrade cards, I mean it. It just won't be possible.

------------------
Bruce Paine
Mgr. eMarketing


__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-1999, 12:11 AM
ProdInfo ProdInfo is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 338
Default Re: System requirements

The full system requirements for digi001 are not yet available from our testing department. However, we have just posted new features information and RAM requirements (128MB) at the digi001 website. We will continue to post new information on these soon-to-be-released products as it becomes available. For the latest, click here:

www.digi001.com

T.J. Thomas
digidesign
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-1999, 01:21 AM
ACIDCHAOS3 ACIDCHAOS3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 23
Default Re: System requirements

Will you need an additional hard drive in order for the Pro Tools LE software to launch, like with TDM systems or can you get by with just a fast ATA/66MHz internal drive?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Requirements and full System Setup MadDogRunner Windows 2 02-25-2013 05:44 PM
"No-Lo" System Requirements moblues Post - Surround - Video 10 07-15-2008 04:29 PM
system requirements brandonstevens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-22-2008 04:09 AM
System Requirements scott__free 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-08-2001 09:20 AM
System Requirements smog90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-30-1999 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com