Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2017, 11:14 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Best way to wire footswitch to Master Module for talkback ?

Again, moving from D-Command, where the talkback could be controlled by 1/4" momentary footswitch, how can I connect a footswitch to the S6 Master Module to do the same?
From what I'm reading, it seems to interface with the 25-pin GPI I/O, but I'm not clear beyond that.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2017, 05:59 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Best way to wire footswitch to Master Module for talkback ?

Appendix A of the User Guide has full details but basically, you connect pin 14 to ground (pin 1) to activate TB. make sure you are using a normally open Footswitch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2017, 07:12 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,814
Default Re: Best way to wire footswitch to Master Module for talkback ?

Or, skip the switch entirely and automate the talkback by routing a mic to an AUX track and insert Sound Radix Mute-o-matic plugin(its free).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2017, 07:23 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: Best way to wire footswitch to Master Module for talkback ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Or, skip the switch entirely and automate the talkback by routing a mic to an AUX track and insert Sound Radix Mute-o-matic plugin(its free).
Hmmm. . . not everything in the control room is necessarily beneficial for a singer to hear. . . sometimes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6 not recognizing any modules, including master module polyh3dron Pro Tools | S6 4 06-30-2016 06:14 PM
Master Module FAN NOISE rcutz Pro Tools | S6 11 07-29-2015 06:39 AM
Source Talkback AAX gets auto talkback MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 0 11-20-2013 08:15 AM
Footswitch for talkback hitp ICON & C|24 2 06-02-2008 07:42 PM
PT6 & footswitch blsmx8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com